Lalah Hathaway

Lalah Hathaway

by Lalah HathawayLalah Hathaway


1 New & Used Starting at $4.45


When Lalah Hathaway's self-titled debut album came out in 1990, there was reason to believe that she might evolve into one of the top female R&B singers of the 1990s. Donny Hathaway's daughter certainly had a lot going for her -- not only a big vocal range, but also plenty of charisma, passion, and charm to go with it. The material on this CD ranges from excellent to routine, depending on who's writing and/or producing a particular song. Hathaway doesn't always have fantastic material to work with, but when she does, the results are quite memorable. The producers/songwriters who really do Hathaway justice include Angela Winbush on "Baby, Don't Cry" and "I Gotta Move On," and Andre Fisher on "Smile" and "Somethin'." While those selections come across as personal, Hathaway slips into a routine, less-than-memorable urban contemporary grind thanks to Chuckii Booker on "Sentimental," and Craig T. Cooper on "Obvious" and "U-Godit Gowin On." Again, not everything on the album is a gem. But when Hathaway had strong material to work with, it was clear that she had a lot of potential.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/29/1992
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 0077778617426
catalogNumber: 86174

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lalah Hathaway   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Jerry "Boogie" McCain   Background Vocals
Gary Taylor   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Larry Williams   Synthesizer
Sam Riney   Saxophone
Jeff Lorber   Synthesizer,Flute,Strings
Michael Thompson   Guitar
Cat Miller   Voices,Hand Clapping
Jimmy Haslip   Bass
Chuckii Booker   Multi Instruments
Derek Bramble   Bass,Keyboards
Luis Conte   Percussion
Craig T. Cooper   Multi Instruments
Deborah Cooper   Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Russell Ferrante   Keyboards
André Fischer   Synthesizer,Percussion,Drums,Keyboards
Donald Griffin   Guitar
Marc Hugenberger   Synthesizer
William Kennedy   Drums
Randy Kerber   Keyboards
Jean McClain   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Dean Parks   Guitar
Marc Russo   Saxophone
Monty Seward   Keyboards
Larry Steelman   Synthesizer
Neil Stubenhaus   Bass
Denise Stewart   Voices,Hand Clapping
Angela Winbush   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Antoinette Brown   Voices,Hand Clapping,Clappers
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar
Robbie Casey   Voices,Hand Clapping
Will Kennedy   Drums
Gerald Farwell   Voices,Hand Clapping
John Kirtland   Hand Clapping
Kelvin McKisic   Voices,Hand Clapping
Wendy Williams   Hand Clapping
Maria A. Manning   Voices,Hand Clapping
Wendi Williams   Clarinet
Jai Diamond   Voices,Hand Clapping
Josina Elder   Voices,Hand Clapping
4-Reel   Ensemble
Phaenicia Grant   Voices,Hand Clapping
Bullet Harris   Voices,Hand Clapping
Cat Milkler   Hand Clapping
Shiro Stokes   Voices,Hand Clapping

Technical Credits

Lalah Hathaway   Vocal Arrangements
Gary Taylor   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Dmx
Jeff Lorber   Programming
Jeff Balding   Engineer
Robert Biles   Engineer
Chuckii Booker   Arranger,Producer
Derek Bramble   Programming,Producer,drum programming
Craig T. Cooper   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Deborah Cooper   Composer
André Fischer   Arranger,Producer,drum programming
Mitch Gibson   Engineer
Jerry Hey   Arranger
Michael Mancini   Engineer
Richard McKernan   Engineer
Doug Rider   Engineer
Schmitt   Engineer
Rob Seifert   Engineer
Denise Stewart   Composer
Steve Sykes   Engineer
Angela Winbush   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Jeffrey "Woody" Woodruff   Engineer
Dennis Stefani   Engineer
Melanie Nissen   Art Direction
Jean-Paul Mann   Cover Photo
John Brown   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews