Lady in Satin

Lady in Satin

by Billie Holiday


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


This was her penultimate album, recorded when her body was telling her enough was enough. During the sessions with arranger Ray Ellis she was drinking vodka neat, as if it were tap water. Yet, for all her ravaged voice (the sweetness had long gone), she was still an incredible singer. The feeling and tension she manages to put into almost every track set this album as one of her finest achievements. "You've Changed" and "I Get Along Without You Very Well" are high art performances from the singer who saw life from the bottom upwards. The CD reissue masterminded by Phil Schaap is absolutely indispensable. [Some reissues add two alternate takes of "I'm a Fool to Want You," part of which were used for the original released rendition, plus the stereo version of "The End of a Love Affair" (only previously released in mono) and examples of Lady Day rehearsing the latter song, including a long unaccompanied stretch.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/1997
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886977007026
catalogNumber: 770070
Rank: 10914


  1. I'm a Fool To Want You
  2. For Heaven's Sake
  3. You Don't Know What Love is
  4. I Get Along Without You Very Well
  5. For All We Know
  6. Violets For Your Furs
  7. You've Changed
  8. It's Easy To Remember
  9. But Beautiful
  10. Glad To Be Unhappy
  11. I'll Be Around
  12. The End of a Love Affair
  13. I'm a Fool To Want You
  14. I'm a Fool To Want You
  15. The End of a Love Affair
  16. The End of a Love Affair
  17. Pause Track

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews