Kiss

Kiss

by Jill Mansell

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, January 28
MARKETPLACE
15 New & Used Starting at $4.00

Overview

International bestseller Jill Mansell delivers a hilarious, touching tale about love and friendship

One perfect, unforgettable kiss can change your life...

When aspiring musician Izzy is knocked off her motorbike, she doesn't just lose her dignity—she loses both long-term boyfriends, her job, and her beautiful apartment. Gina, who caused the accident, has more important things to worry about: her husband has just deserted her for his pregnant mistress. Why should she care about Izzy? Yet somehow, Gina finds herself opening her home to Izzy and her spirited teenage daughter.

It's there that Izzy meets Gina's oldest friend, heart-stoppingly handsome Sam, whose lingering kiss is almost impossible to ignore. But there are just a few obstacles between that first kiss and the happily ever after that has always eluded her...

Praise for Jill Mansell:
"Absolutely wonderful... Touching, funny, down-to-earth, and oh-so satisfying,"—Harlequin Junkie for This Could Change Everything
"Engaging and entertaining... Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella or Marian Keyes."—Shelf Awareness for Fast Friends
"A funny, entertaining tale that will captivate you and have you asking for more."—Fresh Fiction for Sheer Mischief

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492632399
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 08/01/2019
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 170,934
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

With over 10 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny, poignant and romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Kiss 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Karin Becker 21 days ago
Enjoyed the characters very much. Story has several twists that make you wonder how it will ever work out, but in good fashion, it does. Looking forward to the next book.
iiiireader More than 1 year ago
Gina has just been unceremoniously dumped by her husband when he discovers that his secret girlfriend has become pregnant. Gina ventures out into the night and, while distraught, ends up running into Izzy who is out riding on her motorbike. Izzy ends up losing her job and she and her teenager daughter have nowhere to live. They end up living with Gina and end up turning her world upside down. Gina is quiet and stable. Izzy is much more free and open. Izzy’s daughter is being driven crazy by both Gina and Izzy, not to mention a male friend who wants to be more than just a friend. This is the story about how these three women hit and bottom and then find their way back up again. There are bumps along the way and some pretty deep drops. However, they are each determined to create a better life for themselves. I was provided a digital advance reader copy of this book by the publisher via Netgalley.
boclairedesigns More than 1 year ago
I received a free ARC eBook from Net Galley and the publisher for my honest opinions. The story jumped around too much for me. The characters traded love interests as often as you change your clothes! Some of the relationships were just unbelievable. Add to the fact that the lack of familiarity with customs, foods, and locations in Britain made understanding the setting difficult at best, I found myself skimming through the story to get to the end. Not one Of my favorites, but the HEA for all characters made it worth finishing. Rating between 2 and 3 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book focuses on two women at very different points in their lives who end up sharing a home after crazy circumstances bring them together. Izzy is a free spirit who is raising her teenage daughter (Katherine), juggling serious relationships with two different men and is also about to be evicted from her apartment. Gina is a woman who has sacrificed her life to be the model wife meanwhile her husband Andrew decides to up and leave her for another woman. During her meltdown, Gina manages to hit Izzy's motorcycle with her car. This inevitably ends up with Gina offering her home to Izzy and her daughter. Up until this point, I felt that this was an enjoyable read. However, the further I read, the more soap opera-like the plot became. There was way too much switching partners and romances gone wrong.that I felt like I needed a score card to keep up. I felt the plot kept getting more and more far-fetched and overall ended up skimming through a lot of pages hoping for it to get better. In the end, I am giving this book two starts because it had potential and some fun moments but was way too convoluted in the love department.
PegGlover More than 1 year ago
Izzy was a 36-year-old single mom with a dream of becoming a famous singer. Although Izzy loved her daughter, she wasn’t a good role model for her. Izzy didn’t concern herself about that, however. In fact, Izzy didn’t worry about much of anything. She depended on her meager barmaid salary as well as an occasional singing opportunity, to provide for Kat, and herself. Kat was more of a mother than Izzy was. She cooked and cleaned, and made excuses to her mother’s boyfriends for Izzy’s absence. Izzy had a good relationship with her daughter until she publically shamed Kat. After being humiliated, Kat distanced herself from her mother. That eventually changed, but not before they both suffered a great deal. I didn’t care for the unsavory characters in this book who cheated on their spouses or took pleasure in meaningless relationships. Although I didn’t become invested in the characters, their quirky and sometimes silly behavior was quite entertaining. If you enjoy a light romance with lots of drama, Kiss maybe the book for you. Kiss is a humorous, drama-filled romantic tale. This book was not one of my favorites by Jill Mansell, but was enjoyable and entertaining just the same. Thank you, Sourcebooks-Landmark and NetGalley, for my advanced review copy.
sjillis More than 1 year ago
KISS takes the reader on a wild ride with irrepressible Izzy Van Asch and her growing cadre of friends and lovers. Izzy may not have much money, but she has a brilliant daughter, Katerina, two devoted lovers, and a few singing jobs. But when Gina, distraught over her husband leaving her for his pregnant mistress, hits Izzy’s motorbike, Izzy loses her job and her apartment and her lovers. Gina grudgingly takes in Izzy and Katerina. Gina’s friend, Sam, returns from the US and Izzy and Sam both promise to ignore their attraction for one another while living under Gina’s roof. The plot twists might give some readers whiplash, but Izzy is such a fun character, you have to keep reading to see what happens next. What is most remarkable about the book is that while it’s ostensibly a romance, the friendships the women forge and manage to sustain, even as they occasionally become romantic rivals, are the more compelling story. KISS was originally published in 2000 and is being reprinted. One of the subplots is really cringey, which should have been addressed to make the novel stronger. Even so, it’s a five pound bag with ten pounds of potatoes.
Robindpdx More than 1 year ago
This was an entertaining, well-written book. A single mom and her late teens daughter cross paths with a newly single woman unexpectedly and they become roommates. They have very different personalities and lifestyles. They and their circle of friends experience a hilarious, unpredictable variety of events in their quest for love and fulfilling their futures. I enjoyed this book and would read other books by this author.
AMGiacomasso More than 1 year ago
This is the perfect for a summer day: engrossing and entertaining. I love the setting, the well written cast of characters, the style of writing and the well developed plot. The romance was very good and you couldn't help rooting for the characters. Recommended! Many thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.