Kings Of Crunk

Kings Of Crunk

by Lil Jon & the East Side BoyzLil Jon & the East Side Boyz




There was a time when Southern rappers felt marginalized. That was before the rise of 2 Live Crew and their bass colleagues in the late '80s; southern rap has long since become a huge industry, and Dirty South MCs who hit big in cities like New Orleans, Memphis, and Miami can easily sell a ton of CDs in the South alone. While some Dirty South rappers have a gangsta/thug life agenda and some are into serious sociopolitical messages, Atlanta rapper Lil Jon and his two East Side Boyz (Lil Bo and Big Sam) have tended to favor rowdy, in-your-face, profanity-filled party music. Kings of Crunk, like the trio's previous releases, is full of the sort of hook-filled call-and-response jams that Southern hip-hop clubs are known for. The list of guests reads like a who's-who of Dirty South rapping -- Mystikal, Petey Pablo, Trick Daddy, and Pastor Troy all have cameos -- and Jon's trio works the crunk formula to death on relentlessly energetic tunes such as "Knockin' Heads Off," "Throw It Up," and the single "I Don't Give a Fuck." At times, the group sounds like it is recycling hits from previous albums, but one is inclined to be forgiving because even the CD's most formulaic tracks are infectious -- the Atlanta residents do have a way with a hook. And to their credit, not every track is formulaic crunk. Kings of Crunk detours into more of a Texas-type sound when Jon features U.G.K. on the rock-influenced "Diamonds," and those who find that Jon's up-tempo material can be exhausting will be surprised at how much his group chills out on "Nothin's Free" and a few other smooth, R&B-drenched items. Arguably the trio's most well-rounded album, Kings of Crunk will keep crunk fans happy, but has enough variety to keep listeners from calling them one-dimensional.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/29/2002
Label: Tvt
UPC: 0016581237025
catalogNumber: 2370


  1. Kings of Crunk (Intro)
  2. Throw It Up
  3. Knockin Heads Off
  4. Pimpin Ken Speaks
  5. B***h
  6. I Don't Give A...
  7. Rep Yo City
  8. Push That N****, Push That H**
  9. Keep You Chullin Out the Street
  10. Diamonds
  11. Weedman (Skit)
  12. The Weedman
  13. Nothin On
  14. Luke Talkin S**t
  15. Ooh Na Na Naa Naa
  16. Nothins Free
  17. Play No Games
  18. Pitbulls Cuban Rideout
  19. Get Low
  20. T.I.P.
  21. Bme Click

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lil Jon & the East Side Boyz   Primary Artist
LaMarquis Jefferson   Musician
Craig Love   Musician
Lil Jon   Keyboards
Rob McDowell   Keyboards
L-Roc   Keyboards,Musician
Co   Vocals
Kim & Dave   Background Vocals
Oobie   Vocals
Pitbull   Vocals

Technical Credits

Dale Everingham   Engineer
Niko Lyras   Engineer
Robin Hill   Sample Clearance
Andrew Seidel   Engineer
Mark Mitchell   Engineer
Josh Butler   Engineer
Eric Jackson   Composer
Jan Nerud   Engineer
Lil Pat   Engineer
Taj "Mahal" Tilghman   Engineer
Lil Jon   Producer,Executive Producer
Ralph Cacciurri   Engineer
Bryan Leach   Executive Producer
Rob McDowell   Executive Producer
Artese Williams   Engineer
Emperor Searcy   Executive Producer
Christian Delatour   Engineer
Rick "Disco Rick" Taylor   Engineer
Billy Hume   Engineer
Brett Lieberman   Engineer
Vincent Alexander   Engineer
Red   Producer
Deongelo Holmes   Composer
Jonathan "Lil Jon" Smith   Composer
Sammie Norris   Composer

Customer Reviews