Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Keep Movin' On

Keep Movin' On

by Sam Cooke Sam Cooke
Keep Movin' On

Keep Movin' On

by Sam Cooke Sam Cooke


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 17


Sam Cooke's visionary take on pop and soul blazed a path for equally talented acolytes Otis Redding and Al Green. At the time of his violent death in 1964, Cooke was transitioning from a sophisticated pop crooner to a more socially conscious artist, using more complex arrangements and delving into deeper subject matter, such as the civil rights movement. Recorded at a point when the late vocalist had fought for and won total control over his artistic output, the 23-track Keep Movin' On consists of Cooke's last sessions, most of which are available on other collections, along with a pair of previously unreleased cuts. Much-loved classics such as the thumping "Shake" and the sweet shuffle "Another Saturday Night" share space with more lighthearted fare like a chugging cover of Patti Page's "Tennessee Waltz" and the snappy, Dixieland-flavored "Cousin of Mine." While Cooke effortlessly churned out upbeat numbers, it's soul-stirring gospel songs like "That's Where It's At" and "(Somebody) Ease My Troublin' Mind" that reveal the depth and power of his voice. Glaringly absent from the otherwise stellar four-disc Cooke box set, The Man Who Invented Soul, but thankfully included on this collection is Cooke's greatest achievement and legacy -- the gorgeous "A Change Is Gonna Come," a lushly orchestrated civil rights anthem written in response to Bob Dylan's "Blowin' in the Wind." Rounding out the set, the previously unreleased and more pop-oriented title track and "I'm Just a Country Boy" hint at the great heights Sam Cooke might have achieved had fate not intervened.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/17/2003
Label: Abkco
UPC: 0018771956327
catalogNumber: 95632
Rank: 44494


  1. Good News
  2. Rome (Wasn't Built in a Day)
  3. Meet Me at Mary's Place
  4. Basin Street Blues
  5. Cousin of Mine
  6. Tennessee Waltz
  7. Falling in Love
  8. When a Boy Falls in Love
  9. Good Times
  10. Shake
  11. Yeah Man
  12. It's Got the Whole World Shakin'
  13. The Riddle Song
  14. I'm Just a Country Boy
  15. Try a Little Love
  16. There'll Be No Second Time
  17. Another Saturday Night
  18. Sugar Dumpling
  19. That's Where It's At
  20. You're Nobody 'til Somebody Loves You
  21. (Somebody) Ease My Troublin' Mind
  22. A Change Is Gonna Come
  23. Keep Movin' On

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sam Cooke   Primary Artist
Glen Campbell   Guitar
Lincoln Mayorga   Piano,Celeste
Bobby Womack   Guitar
Frank Capp   Percussion
Plas Johnson   Saxophone
Barney Kessel   Guitar
Harold Land   Saxophone
Gerald Wilson   Trumpet
Lou Blackburn   Trombone
Buddy Clark   Bass
Israel Baker   Violin
Hal Blaine   Drums
Robert Barene   Violin
Harold Battiste   Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Saxophone
Arnold Belnick   Violin
Milt Bernhart   Trombone
Harry Betts   Trombone
Louise Blackburn   Trombone
James E. Bond   Bass,Upright Bass
John Boudreaux   Percussion,Drums
Robert Bryant   Trumpet,Drums
Harper Cosby   Bass,Upright Bass
Leroy Crume   Guitar
Frank DeVito   Percussion,Drums
John DeVoogdt   Strings,Violin
James A. Decker   French Horn
Jesse Ehrlich   Cello
Sticks Evans   Percussion,Bongos
Albert "June" Gardner   Drums
Jewell L. Grant   Saxophone
William Green   Clarinet,Flute,Saxophone
Rene Hall   Organ,Guitar,Piano,Conductor,Leader
Jimmie Haskell   Conductor,Leader
Howard Roberts   Guitar
Harry Hyams   Viola
Raymond Johnson   Piano
William Kurash   Violin
Melvin Lastie   Piano,Trombone,Trumpet,Saxophone
Arthur Maebe   French Horn
Leonard Malarsky   Violin
Vito Mangano   Trumpet
Alexander Neiman   Strings,Viola
Earl Palmer   Drums
Jack Pepper   Violin
John Pisano   Guitar
Ray Pohlman   Bass,Piano
Emil Radocchia   Percussion,Marimbas,Timpani
Allan Reuss   Guitar
John Rotella   Saxophone,Musician
Emmet Sargeant   Violin,Cello
Ralph Schaeffer   Strings,Violin
Darrel Terwilliger   Violin
Alvin "Red" Tyler   Saxophone
Dave Wells   Trombone
Clifton White   Guitar,Strings,Conductor,Leader
Cecil Womack   Guitar
Tibor Zelig   Strings,Violin
Anthony Terran   Trumpet
Joseph R. Gibbons   Trombone
Irving Lipschultz   Violin
James M. McGee   French Horn
David Pell   Saxophone
Johnny Halliburton   Trombone
Joe Hooven   Leader
Ambrose Russo   Violin,Musician
Red Tyler   Saxophone
John Anderson   Trumpet
Sidney Sharp   Violin
Jake "Vernon" Porter   Trombone
Chuck Badie   Bass
Howard Roberts   Guitar
Eddie Hall   Drums
Peter Badie   Bass
John Ewing   Trombone
Russell Bridges   Piano
Clifford Hils   Bass
Norman Bartold   Guitar
Linwood Mitchell   Percussion
Jack Preisner   Trumpet
Edgar Redmond   Saxophone
Eddie Tilman   Bass
William Hinshaw   Horn,French Horn
Ernie Tack   Trombone,Musician

Technical Credits

Sam Cooke   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Original Album Producer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Luigi Creatore   Producer,Original Album Producer
Peter Guralnick   Essay
Ray Hall   Engineer
Rene Hall   Arranger
Jimmie Haskell   Arranger
David Hassinger   Engineer
Bones Howe   Engineer
Iris Keitel   Art Direction
Hugo Peretti   Producer,Original Album Producer
Schmitt   Producer,Original Album Producer
Clifton White   Arranger
James Alexander   Composer
Joe Hooven   Arranger
Gus Skinas   Engineer
Alisa Ritz   Art Direction
Lenne Allik   Executive Producer
Larraine Walton   Audio Production Director
Angelo Tillery   Cover Illustration
Dick Bogart   Engineer
Traditional   Composer
Teri Landi   Producer
Marshall Barer   Composer
Jody H. Klein   Producer

Customer Reviews