Keep It Simple

Keep It Simple

by Keb' Mo'Keb' Mo'


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 9


There comes a point in a committed artist’s career when he knows just what he wants, and how to get it. Planning the sound of his upcoming album, contemporary bluesman Keb' Mo’ realized that he could act as his own producer, so definite was his vision of the music. His hunch was correct, for Keep It Simple is among the most immediately gratifying of Mo’s acclaimed recordings. Personal though the album may be, Mo’ doesn’t go it alone. He’s brought in some heavy hitters to enrich his sound, including bluegrass virtuoso Sam Bush on mandolin, and studio giants Nathan East on bass and Greg Philinganes on keyboards. An instrumental highlight is the tasty guitar work provided by Robert Cray and Robben Ford on “Riley B. King,” a tribute to B. B. King co-written by Ford and Mo'. Amy Grant and Vince Gill also pitch in with supporting vocals on “House In California.” Still, there’s plenty of the celebrated vocals and guitar picking and expert songcraft that have made Keb' Mo' a modern legend of the blues. With Keep It Simple, he continues to bring the genre into the warmth of a new day.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/10/2004
Label: Sony
UPC: 0696998640825
catalogNumber: 86408
Rank: 1823

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Keb' Mo'   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Banjo,Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Mandolin,Percussion,Vocals
Robert Cray   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals,Soloist
Sam Bush   Mandolin
Amy Grant   Background Vocals
Robben Ford   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals,Soloist
Jeff Paris   Organ,Harmonica,Mandolin,Piano,Keyboards
Alex Brown   Background Vocals
Chad Cromwell   Drums
Nathan East   Bass
Steve Ferrone   Drums
Paul Franklin   Dobro
Vince Gill   Background Vocals
John Hobbs   Electric Piano,fender rhodes
Phillip Ingram   Background Vocals
Munyungo Jackson   Percussion
Ricky Lawson   Drums
Reggie McBride   Bass
Greg Phillinganes   Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano
John Porter   Guitar
Willie Weeks   Bass
Andrea Zonn   Violin,Background Vocals
Bobette Harrison-Jamison   Background Vocals
Shannon Curfman   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Mickey Hart   Composer
Bob Weir   Composer
Robben Ford   Composer
Bill Medley   Composer
Jeff Paris   Composer
Gary Nicholson   Composer
Darrell Scott   Composer
Jenny Yates   Composer
Keb' Mo'   Composer,Producer
Zuriani   Composer
David Bett   Art Direction
Ok Hee Kim   Engineer
Jason Wormer   Engineer
Eric Lynn   Composer
Kevin Meeker   Engineer
Andy Brohard   Engineer
Mark Johnson   Engineer

Customer Reviews