Just for a Thrill

Just for a Thrill

by Ronnie MilsapRonnie Milsap


$16.41 $17.99 Save 9% Current price is $16.41, Original price is $17.99. You Save 9%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Just for a Thrill was first put into motion in 2000 when producer Jerry F. Sharell approached Ronnie Milsap about recording a standards project. Sharell proposed over 150 songs to Milsap, which were then whittled down to 40 and finally the 14 included on this Image release. Milsap's voice is in great shape. His vocals and piano complement the arrangements of Jimmie Haskell, Charles Calello, Sammy Nestico, and Doc Mulligan on such standards as "Bewitched," "Haunted Heart," "Every Time We Say Goodbye," "In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning," and "Since I Fell for You." While not as radio friendly as some of the chart-topping covers Milsap recorded in the '80s like "Snap Your Fingers," "Any Day Now," and "He Got You," the string-laden Just for a Thrill works in same the manner as similar undertakings by Linda Ronstadt, Carly Simon, and Rod Stewart, in that Milsap has an obvious love of these tunes that shines through all 14 tracks.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/21/2004
Label: Image Entertainment
UPC: 0014381177824
catalogNumber: 1778
Rank: 177237

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ronnie Milsap   Primary Artist,Piano,Electric Piano,Vocals,fender rhodes
Pete Christlieb   Reeds,Tenor Saxophone
George Young   Reeds
Marilyn Baker   Viola
Richard Todd   French Horn
Rick Baptist   Trumpet
Charlie Bisharat   Violin
Mari Tsumura   Violin
Dennis Budimir   Acoustic Guitar
Charles Calello   Conductor
Gene Cipriano   Reeds
Larry Corbett   Cello
Joel Derouin   Violin
Assa Drori   Violin,Concert Master
Ernest Ehrhardt   Cello
Charles Everett   Violin
Armen Garabedian   Violin
Berj Garabedian   Violin
Pamela Goldsmith   Viola
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Jimmie Haskell   Conductor
Clayton Haslop   Violin
Dan Higgins   Reeds
David Hungate   Bass,Bass Guitar
Patricia Johnson   Violin
Anne Karam   Cello
Paul Leim   Drums
Charles Loper   Trombone
Warren Luening   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Bob Mann   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Dick Nash   Trombone
Sammy Nestico   Conductor
Dean Parks   Electric Guitar
Weldon Dean Parks   Guitar
James Ross   Viola
Harry Shirinian   Viola
Miwako Watanabe   Violin
Gayle Levant   Harp
Marilyn L. Johnson   French Horn
Daniel Smith   Cello
Tom Boyd   Oboe
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet
Jerry Sharell   Conductor
Daniel Kelly   French Horn
Jennifer Munday   Violin
Don Shelton   Reeds
George Bohanon   Trombone
Catherine Styron Marx   Piano
Becky Bunnell   Violin
James L. Brantley   Acoustic Guitar
Dominick Farinacci   Trumpet
Vanessa Brown   Percussion
James Atkinson   French Horn
Phillip Teele   Trombone
Catherine S. Marx   Piano

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
Paul Gayten   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Ronnie Milsap   Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
David Mann   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Rob Galbraith   Producer,Audio Production
Jerome Kern   Composer
Fred E. Ahlert   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Charles Calello   Arranger
Gene DePaul   Composer
Howard Dietz   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Jimmie Haskell   Arranger
Bob Hilliard   Composer
Mark Lambert   Engineer
Sammy Nestico   Arranger
Cole Porter   Composer
Don Raye   Composer
Bill Schnee   Engineer
Arthur Schwartz   Composer
Garrett Rittenberry   Title Design
Joe Young   Composer
Robert Guidry   Composer
Jerry Sharell   Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
John Saylor   Engineer
Churchill Kohlman   Composer

Customer Reviews