Judges and Saviors, Deborah and Samson: Reflections of a World in Chaos

Judges and Saviors, Deborah and Samson: Reflections of a World in Chaos

by Hillel I. Millgram

Paperback(New Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This is a book about a book: it is an in-depth yet reader friendly analysis of the Book of Judges, one of the most dramatic books of the Bible. Against the commonly-held view that this remarkable work is no more than a collection of hero tales stemming from Israel’s earliest days in its land—its “Heroic Age,” so to speak—this study makes the case that the Book of Judges is a unified composition with a single focused message: that it is the values held by a people and not its politics that determine its fate. Further, Judges contends that there is a direct connection between the kind of values people internalize and the level of violence that racks their society, both inflicted from without and generated from within. And not least, that the presence of violence is a symptom that a society has abandoned the moral values of monotheism for the Machiavellian politics of a pagan worldview that worships power as the ultimate reality. The larger-than-life heroes and heroines—Ehud and Jael, Deborah and Gideon, Jephthah and Samson—who people the pages of Judges serve by their example to illustrate the way this thesis works out in the world.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780761869894
Publisher: Hamilton Books
Publication date: 03/09/2018
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 628
Product dimensions: 6.92(w) x 9.98(h) x 1.44(d)

About the Author

Hillel I. Millgram has served in pulpits in the United States and Canada before settling in Jerusalem where, for the last twenty years, he has pursued a career of research and writing while teaching graduate courses in Bible.

Table of Contents

List of Maps
Preface and Acknowledgements
Prologue: Setting the Stage
Foreword: A Flawed Follow-Up
Chapter 1: Getting Our Bearings
Chapter 2: The View from Olympus
Part I: The First Saviors: Solo Beginnings
Chapter 3: A New Age Dawns
Chapter 4: The Left Hand of God
A Minor Interlude: Shamgar
Part II: The Deborah Duet
Chapter 5: Canaan’s Last Gasp
Chapter 6: Sing Muse, How the Enemies of the Lord are Fallen
Part III: The Gideon Quartet
Chapter 7: The Hewer of Idols
Chapter 8: The Day of Midian
Chapter 9: Nemesis
Chapter 10: The Man Who Would Be King
A Second Minor Interlude: Tola And Jair
Part IV: The Jephthah Quintet: A Tragedy in Five Installments
Chapter 11: A Dialogue Twixt Heaven and Earth
Chapter 12: The Man from Tob
Chapter 13: Giving Peace a Chance
Chapter 14: Triumph and Tragedy
Chapter 15: Into the Valley Of Death
Final Minor Interlude: Ibzan, Elon and Abdon
Part V: The Loose Cannon: The Samson Sextet
Chapter 16: Introduction: The Tragedy Of Samson
Chapter 17: Prologue: In the Beginning
Chapter 18: Timnah
Chapter 19: Vengeance Is Mine
Chapter 20: The Way to Dusty Death
Chapter 21: Unresolved Dissonances
Epilogue: Has It Come To This?
Chapter 22: Epilogue Part I: A Tale of Stolen Silver
Chapter 23: Epilogue Part II (A): Atrocity!
Chapter 24: Epilogue Part II (B): Outrage!
Chapter 25: Epilogue Part II (C): Restoration
Chapter 26: Olympus Revisited
Glossary of Terms and Place Names
Who’s Who in Judges
Selected Bibliography
About the Author

Customer Reviews