Journey's End

Journey's End

by Rachel Hawkins

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 26
MARKETPLACE
22 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Overview

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of A Tangle of Knots.
 
The town of Journey's End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. While Nolie's father came to Journey's End to study the Boundary—a mysterious fog bank offshore—Bel's family can’t afford to consider it a threat. The McKissick’s livelihood depends on the tourists drawn by legends of a curse. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, going into the Boundary means you'll never come back. 

…Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns—without having aged a day and with no memory of the past hundred years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within. Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an ancient Scottish spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice.


“Rife with emotion and adventure, Hawkins’s novel celebrates the joyful explorations of childhood and the sometimes-difficult lessons learned with age." —Publisher's Weekly
 
 "Hawkins’s latest middle grade novel is a spooky tale of friendship and adventure." —School Library Journal

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780399169601
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 10/25/2016
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: 930L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Rachel Hawkins is the author of the Rebel Belle series and the New York Times bestselling Hex Hall series. Born in Virginia and raised in Alabama, Rachel taught high school English before becoming a full-time writer.

Read an Excerpt

It was fairly quiet in the village at night, and Bel didn’t know if that was because the weather had been so poor, or if after the meeting, everyone was doing the same thing that her family had wanted to do—go home and talk it all over. The arcade was closed earlier than normal, and while Bel saw a few people down by the harbor, sipping from Styrofoam cups of tea, on the whole, it was nearly empty.
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Journey's End"
by .
Copyright © 2016 Rachel Hawkins.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews