Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Join the Club

Join the Club

by Lucy Spraggan Lucy Spraggan
Join the Club

Join the Club

by Lucy Spraggan Lucy Spraggan




The first studio album from the enigmatic former X Factor contestant who won over the judges (and the audience) with her own composition, the infectious reggae-folk drinking anthem "Beer Fear," Join the Club finds the urban troubadour spinning her tales of family ("Tea and Toast"), cross-continental relationships ("In a State"), and youth ("Paper Dreams") against a backdrop of folk, hip-hop, and pop that falls somewhere between the winking club nihilism of Lily Allen and the blue-collar acoustic punk of Frank Turner. Slicker and more radio friendly than some might have hoped, Spraggan's penchant for clever wordplay and knack for engaging melodies manages, for the most part, to hold its own amidst all of the major label-induced fireworks, but cuts like "You're too Young," despite its weighty, anti-violence message, and her meal-ticket song "Last Night (Beer Fear)," are rendered confectionary by the overly precise, single-driven production. Spraggan is at her most endearing when she stays true to the convivial, foot-stomping, Mumford/Indigo Girls street folk that made her X Factor appearances such a breath of fresh air, and standout cuts like "Someone," Mountains," and "Lighthouse" capture that feisty yet big-hearted warmth with great aplomb.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/15/2013
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 0888837078221
catalogNumber: 3707822
Rank: 114414


  1. Someone
  2. Tea & Toast
  3. Lighthouse
  4. '91
  5. The Tourist
  6. In a State
  7. Wait for Me
  8. Mountains
  9. Let Go
  10. Last Night (Beer Fear)
  11. Join the Club
  12. You're Too Young
  13. Paper Dreams

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lucy Spraggan   Primary Artist,Guitar,Percussion,Vocals,Background Vocals
Jason Cooper   Drums
Matthew Aston   Bass,Guitar,Upright Bass
David Kosten   Percussion,Piano,Keyboards
Rory Simmons   Trumpet
James Ahwai   Bass
Alex Torjussen   Drums

Technical Credits

Matt Kemp   Engineer
David Kosten   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Sam Preston   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Jason Elliott   Engineer
Mo Hausler   Engineer
Lucy Spraggan   Composer
James Flannigan   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
David Phelan   Engineer

Customer Reviews