John Coltrane Plays 'Coltrane Changes': C Instruments

John Coltrane Plays 'Coltrane Changes': C Instruments

by John Coltrane, Masaya Yamaguchi


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


(Artist Transcriptions). In the late 1950s, John Coltrane composed or arranged a series of tunes that used chord progressions based on a series of key center movements by thirds, rather than the usual fourths and fifths of standard progressions. This sound is so aurally identifiable and has received so much attention from jazz musicians that it has become known as "Coltrane's Changes." This book presents an exploration of his changes by studying 13 of his arrangements, each containing Coltrane's unique harmonic formula. It includes complete solo transcriptions with extensive performance notes for each. Titles include: Body and Soul * But Not for Me * Central Park West * Countdown * Fifth House * Giant Steps * Summertime * and more.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780634038648
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Publication date: 05/01/2003
Pages: 88
Product dimensions: 9.00(w) x 12.00(h) x 0.30(d)

Customer Reviews