Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files: War Cry

Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files: War Cry

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $14.99 Save 27% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $14.99. You Save 27%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

A war is raging between the vampire forces of the Red Court and the White Council - a war that the wizards are losing. So desperate are the Council that they've dragooned the experienced and the outcast to reinforce their thinning ranks of Wardens. One of these draftees is one Harry Dresden, Chicago's only wizard-for-hire and a guy who's long been looked upon with suspicion by the supernatural authorities. Now, he's one of them, and his first big mission as a Warden is a doozy: take a small team of greenhorns to a frigid town in the middle of nowhere to rescue a handful of mortals who've been targeted by the Red Court. The question is, why exactly are these particular mortals so crucial to the outcome of the war? The answer will come only if Harry can keep them, and his team, alive for one very long night. This graphic novel collects the critically acclaimed five-issue series in one volume, and features a bonus section with Jim Butcher's original story outline, sketchbook artwork from Carlos Gomez, cover gallery with roughs from Stjepan Sejic, and more!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781606907238
Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment
Publication date: 10/29/2014
Series: Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 92,957
File size: 75 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Jim Butcher is a full-time writer who lives in Independence, Missouri, with his wife, son, and ferocious guard dog.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Jim Butcher's Dresden Files: War Cry 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Good volume.
Talekyn More than 1 year ago
I think of the three Dresden Files original graphic novels so far, this is my favorite. It fills in a bit of Harry's history (and the history of the war with the Red Council), reminds us of how egotistical Ramirez was when Butcher first introduced him, and also gives an expanded role to the Venatori Obrorum, a human organization that provides informational support (but not usually firepower) to the White Council. Butcher is never shy about his literary influences, but he also goes Full Lovecraft in this story and clearly enjoyed every minute of it. Naturally, with this being a hardback collection of what was originally a monthly comics series, there's a bit of repetitive exposition at the beginning of each chapter. That's easily overlooked, though, and beyond that the story (developed by Butcher and I believe scripted by Powers) has the usual Dresden flow: an initial problem/mystery that turns out to be deeper and more involved than the characters initially believe; a twist or two and a calling into question of character loyalties; Harry's overly-chivalrous nature called out and utilized by the bad-guys to their advantage; and several wonderfully-paced fight scenes in which Harry and a number of other characters kick butt. The art by Carlos Gomez really fits the story, even when it veers into slightly exagerated cartoonishness. Those moments are not frequent (and mostly deal with the aforementioned Shoggoth, which are notoriously hard to draw), and I enjoyed the look at a much younger Harry, Ramirez and others. Sadly, there's really not much to be seen of the (by this point in the series well-developed and expansive) supporting cast since the story takes place outside of Chicago. The story takes place four months after the events of the Dresden Files novel Dead Beat, but if you're new to the series and reading things in order, I'd suggest not reading War Cry right after Dead Beat. Most of the graphic novel will not spoil anything for the post-Dead Beat novels, except for the very last page. But that last page spoiler is HUGE if you haven't already read through at least the novel Turn Coat. Be warned.
Skye7 More than 1 year ago
Best of the Dresden Files Graphic Novel Series.
BC1130 More than 1 year ago
War Cries takes place after the infamously exciting and fun book #7, Dead Beat in the Dresden Files series. These graphic novels may be short stories with little dialogue but they are just as fun and exciting as the novels. They can be read as stand alone stories without reading the novels but I don't think they will have the same impact without knowing the background of the Dresden story and characters. For those who do not have the patience to read a whole novel and for fans of Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files, I highly recommend War Cries and the previous 2 graphic novel short stories, Welcome to the Jungle and Ghoul Goblins.