Jesus Gave Me Water

Jesus Gave Me Water

by The Soul StirrersThe Soul Stirrers


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


Sam Cooke was only a tender 19 years of age when he was tapped to replace R.H. Harris as the lead singer of legendary gospel group the Soul Stirrers. Cooke's break came when Soul Stirrer baritone R.B. Robinson saw him perform with the Highway Q.C.'s and decided to take the young singer under his wing. Well, if this recording is any indication, Cooke was already the master and everyone else, students. Cooke gives a command performance running in and out of the Stirrers' characteristically solid backing. Never sounding better, he lends energy and sense of teenage desperation to this set of gospel classics and originals. Especially outstanding are the tracks "I'm on the Firing Line," "Jesus Will Lead Me to That Promised Land," and the brilliantly arranged "Jesus Paid the Debt." It wouldn't be until 1958 that Sam Cooke would break into the pop charts, but this record reveals he was a consummate performer. As a total unknown suddenly thrust into leading the most popular gospel group in America, Cooke breaks not a sweat. An excellent, though largely forgotten, record.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/1993
Label: Specialty
UPC: 0022211703129
catalogNumber: 7031
Rank: 54488


  1. Jesus Gave Me Water
  2. Christ Is All
  3. Come, Let Us Go Back to God
  4. I'm on the Firing Line
  5. How Far Am I From Canaan?
  6. Jesus Done Just What He Said
  7. He's My Rock (Wait on Jesus)
  8. Joy, Joy to My Soul
  9. I'm Gonna Build on That Shore
  10. Until Jesus Calls Me Home
  11. Jesus Will Lead Me to That Promised Land
  12. It Won't Be Very Long
  13. Let Me Go Home
  14. Someday Somewhere
  15. Jesus Paid the Debt
  16. End of My Journey
  17. He's My Friend Until the End
  18. I Have a Friend Above All Others
  19. I Gave up Everything to Follow Him
  20. Come and Go to That Land
  21. I'm So Happy in the Service of the Lord
  22. Any Day Now
  23. Jesus, I'll Never Forget
  24. All Right Now
  25. Pray

Album Credits

Customer Reviews