Jazz Workshop [Bonus Tracks]

Jazz Workshop [Bonus Tracks]

by Manny AlbamManny Albam

CD(Bonus Tracks / Spanish Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As an arranger and bandleader, the works of Manny Albam seem better appreciated by jazz musicians than by record labels and the jazz-buying public. This RCA Victor LP collects three separate octets recorded over the span of a few days in December 1955, divided evenly between Albam's swinging originals and imaginative charts of standards ("Anything Goes") and oldies like "Black Bottom" and "Charmaine." The band is anchored by bassist Milt Hinton and drummer Osie Johnson, with a rotating cast of soloists who include Bob Brookmeyer, Urbie Green, Hank Jones, Al Cohn, Hal McKusick, and Joe Newman, among others. At least French RCA Victor made this valuable date available on LP for a time during the 1970s, but it has long since lapsed from print, and will be tough to locate, like far too many records by Manny Albam. [The 2006 CD reissue includes the six-track "Drum Suite" as a bonus.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/25/2006
Label: Lonehill Jazz Spain
UPC: 8436019582503
catalogNumber: 10250
Rank: 123612

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Manny Albam   Primary Artist,Conductor,Leader
Bob Brookmeyer   Valve Trombone
Conte Candoli   Trumpet
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Eddie Costa   Piano,Vibes
Freddie Green   Guitar
Urbie Green   Trombone
Hank Jones   Piano
Thad Jones   Trumpet
Hal McKusick   Alto Saxophone
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Nick Travis   Trumpet
Don Lamond   Drums
Cohn   Tenor Saxophone
John Barrows   French Horn
Raymond Beckenstein   Alto Saxophone
Billy Byers   Trombone
James Buffington   French Horn
Epstein   Tenor Saxophone
Ernie Wilkins   Conductor
Joe Ferrante   Trumpet
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Milt Hinton   Bass
Jerry Sanfino   Alto Saxophone
Gus Johnson   Drums
Osie Johnson   Drums
Sam Marowitz   Alto Saxophone
Jimmy Nottingham   Trumpet
Fred Ohms   Trombone
Sol Schlinger   Baritone
Todd Sommer   Drums
Chauncey Welsch   Trombone
Marty Wilson   Vibes
Joe Newman Quartet   Trumpet
Eddie Wasserman   Baritone
Tom Mitchell   Trombone

Technical Credits

Leonard Feather   Liner Notes
Jimmy McHugh   Composer
Manny Albam   Arranger,Composer
Ernie Wilkins   Arranger,Composer
Dorothy Fields   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Lew Pollack   Composer
Erno Rapee   Composer

Customer Reviews