Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights

Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights

by Karen Blumenthal

Hardcover

$17.99 $19.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

From award-winning author Karen Blumenthal, Jane Against the World takes a deep and passionate look at the riveting history of the fight for reproductive rights in the United States—and how Roe v. Wade was only the beginning.

As the decision of Roe v. Wade continues to be challenged, the fight for reproductive rights is becoming more and more urgent—making Blumenthal’s eye-opening work even more crucial. Tracing the path to the landmark decision in Roe v. Wade and the continuing battle for women's rights, Blumenthal examines, in a straightforward tone, the root causes of the current debate around abortion and repercussions that have affected generations of American women.

This revealing book is the perfect tool to facilitate difficult discussions and awareness of a topic that is rarely touched on in school but affects each and every young person. It's also perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Deborah Heiligman.

This journalistic look at the history of abortion and the landmark case of Roe v. Wade is an important and necessary book.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781626721654
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication date: 02/25/2020
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 176,555
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.50(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Karen Blumenthal (1959-2020) was a financial journalist and editor whose career included five years with The Dallas Morning News and twenty-five with The Wall Street Journal—where her work helped earn the paper a Pulitzer Prize for its breaking news coverage of the September 11, 2001 attacks—before becoming an award-winning children’s non-fiction book writer.

Three of her books, Hillary Rodham Clinton: A Woman Living History, Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different, and Bootleg: Murder, Moonshine, and the Lawless Years of Prohibition, were finalists for the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Award.

Karen was also the author of Six Days in October: The Stock Market Crash of 1929 (named a Sibert Honor Book), Let Me Play: The Story of Title IX (winner of the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award), Tommy: The Gun That Changed America, Bonnie and Clyde: The Making of a Legend, and Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights.

Table of Contents

Prologue Jane 3

Part I Restrictions 8

Madame Restell 11

Margaret Sanger 29

A Crime 39

Sherri Chessen 53

Estelle Griswold 63

Part II Reform 78

Clergy 81

Right to Life 93

Repeal 107

Courts 125

Jane Roe 139

Jane Hodgson 149

Federal Court 157

Jane 165

Part III Roe v. Wade 176

Appeal 179

Briefs 189

Oyez, Oyez, Oyez 201

Deliberations 217

Roe, Again 235

Opinions 245

The Decision 257

Part IV After Roe 272

Politics 275

The Supreme Court, Again 279

Pushback 293

Restrictions 301

Epilogue 311

Glossary of Legal and Medical Terms 319

Timeline 323

Significant Supreme Court Cases on Abortion and Reproductive Rights 327

Acknowledgments 331

Bibliography 333

Notes 345

Photo Credits 367

Index 369

Customer Reviews