Jaco [Original Soundtrack]

Jaco [Original Soundtrack]

by Jaco PastoriusJaco Pastorius




The surprisingly cohesive soundtrack to the 2015 Jaco Pastorius documentary Jaco features tracks the legendary jazz bassist recorded during his short career in the '70s and '80s. The first major documentary film about Pastorius, who was born in 1951 and died tragically in 1987 at age 35, Jaco was produced by bassist Robert Trujillo (Suicidal Tendencies, Metallica) and Pastorius' oldest son, Johnny Pastorius. Jaco details Pastorius' rise from unknown Florida musician to internationally recognized and innovative jazz superstar. In concordance, we get cuts Pastorius recorded as a solo artist and as a member of the influential fusion outfit Weather Report. Fittingly, Trujillo and Pastorius cull tracks off the bassist's two major solo studio albums, 1976's Jaco Pastorius and 1981's Word of Mouth, including "Come on, Come Over," "Continuum," and "Crisis." Elsewhere, we get a handful of major Weather Report sides, including the synth-heavy "River People" and the funky Pastorius feature "Teen Town." Along the way, we also get several tracks Pastorius recorded for other artists, including a live version of "The Dry Cleaner from Des Moines" with Joni Mitchell and "All American Alien Boy" off Ian Hunter's 1978 studio album. Bringing Pastorius' influence full circle, Trujillo also includes several brand-new recordings, including a cover of "Come on, Come Over" by his own band Mass Mental, as well as a cover of "Continuum" by Mexican guitar duo Rodrigo y Gabriela. While there is certainly room for longer, more exhaustive Pastorius anthologies, Jaco succeeds in providing a listenable -- and one feels lovingly heartfelt -- overview of the bassist's career.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/27/2015
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0888751413320
catalogNumber: 514133

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jaco Pastorius   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Electric Bass,Cymbals,Drums,Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Voices,Timpani,Prophet Synthesizer
Ian Hunter   Piano,Rhythm Guitar
Joni Mitchell   Guitar
Michael Brecker   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jack DeJohnette   Drums
Herbie Hancock   Piano,Keyboards,fender rhodes
Hubert Laws   Flute,Piccolo
Pat Metheny   Guitar
David Sanborn   Alto Saxophone
Wayne Shorter   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Lyricon,Sax (Sopranino)
George Young   Alto Saxophone
Howard Johnson   Baritone Saxophone
Lenny White   Drums
Chester Thompson   Percussion,Drums
John Clark   French Horn
Don Alias   Percussion,Conga,Drums,Bells,Afuche
Aynsley Dunbar   Drums
Peter Graves   Bass Trombone
Alex Acuña   Percussion,Conga
Joe Zawinul   Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Melodica,fender rhodes,oberheim,Piano (Grand),Arp 2600,Oberheim 8 Voice,Prophet 5
Manolo Badrena   Conga
Dave Bargeron   Trumpet
Randy Brecker   Trumpet
Cornell Dupree   Guitar
Erin Dickens   Background Vocals
Chuck Findley   Trumpet
Alphonso Johnson   Electric Bass
Gail Kantor   Background Vocals
Armand Sabal-Lecco   Acoustic Bass
Lyle Mays   Keyboards
Narada Michael Walden   Drums
Othello Molineaux   Steel Pan
Dave Prater   Vocals
Jim Pugh   Trumpet
Chris Stainton   Organ,Keyboards
Toots Thielemans   Harmonica
Ron Tooley   Trumpet
Leroy Williams   Steel Pan
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Robert Thomas   Hand Drums
Robert Trujillo   Bass
Sam Moore   Vocals
Alex Darqui   fender rhodes
Shaun Lopez   Guitar
Peter Gordon   French Horn
Don Allas   Percussion,Conga
Benji Webbe   Vocals
Chino Moreno   Voices
Tim Harkins   Horn
Tech N9ne   Vocals
Mass Mental   Horn
David Pastorius   Bass
David Taylor   Bass,Trombone
Robert Thomas   Percussion
Ann Sutton   Background Vocals
Bobby Findley   Trumpet
C-Minus   Horn,Keyboards
Chuck Doom   Bass,Keyboards
Whit Crane   Vocals
Paul Hornmueller   Steel Pan

Technical Credits

Ian Hunter   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Joni Mitchell   Composer
Charles Mingus   Composer
Jaco Pastorius   Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Wayne Shorter   Producer
Don Alias   Composer
Joe Zawinul   Producer
Bobby Colomby   Producer
Jerry Hudgins   Engineer
Armand Sabal-Lecco   Producer
Ron Malo   Engineer
David Palmer   Engineer
Don Puluse   Engineer
Robert Trujillo   Producer,Liner Notes
Shaun Lopez   Composer
Peter Yianilos   Producer,Engineer
Ross Robinson   Arranger,Producer
Benji Webbe   Vocal Engineer
Chino Moreno   Composer
Tim Harkins   Producer,Engineer,Horn Arrangements,keyboard arrangements
Mass Mental   Arranger,keyboard arrangements
Rodrigo   Arranger
Bob Herzog   Composer
Daniel Anderson   Arranger
Gabriela Montero   Arranger
Mary Pastorius   Composer
David Wittman   Engineer
Ben Cybulsky   Engineer
Chuck Doom   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Aaron Yates   Composer
Steve Lampasona   Artwork
Chloe Trujillo   Artwork
Simon Bollier   Layout

Customer Reviews