It's Christmas on Mack Avenue

It's Christmas on Mack Avenue



It's Christmas on Mack Avenue is the third holiday collection from Detroit-based jazz label Mack Avenue Records. Full of classy, understated performances by pianist Aaron Diehl, vibraphonist Warren Wolf, bassist Christian McBride, and many other great acts from the label's roster, it's the kind of holiday release that stands out simply because it doesn't try so hard to dazzle. Warm, elegant arrangements like saxophonist Tia Fuller's rendition of "Little Drummer Boy" and singer Cécile McLorin Salvant's heartfelt take on "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" offer a lovely low-key alternative to the overly exuberant holiday pop and tired carols blaring out of every shop window from Halloween to New Year's Eve. Best enjoyed with a snifter of brandy and a crackling fire in the hearth.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/27/2014
Label: Mack Avenue
UPC: 0673203109025
catalogNumber: 1090

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Brady   Guitar,Group Member
Christian McBride   Bass,Spoken Word,Group Member
Orrin Evans   Piano
Shamie Royston   Piano
Sean Jones   Trumpet
Jeb Patton   Piano
Carl Cafagna   Saxophone,Group Member
Quincy Davis   Drums,sleigh bells,Spoken Word
Julien Labro   Accordion,Group Member
Sachal Vasandani   Vocals
Jerome Jennings   Drums
Evan Perri   Guitar,Group Member
Shannon Wade   Bass,Group Member
Tia Fuller   Saxophone
Kim Thompson   Drums
Miriam Sullivan   Bass
Christian Sands   Piano,Spoken Word,Group Member
Warren Wolf   Vibes,Spoken Word
Luques Curtis   Bass
David Wong   Bass
Aaron Diehl   Piano,Spoken Word
Linda Oh   Bass
Michael Valeanu   Guitar
Cyrille Aimée   Vocals
Cécile McLorin Salvant   Vocals,Spoken Word
Khalil Kwame-Bell   Percussion
Ulysses Owens   Drums,Group Member
Dani Danor   Drums
Ylysses Owens   Spoken Word

Technical Credits

Leroy Anderson   Composer
Hank Ballard   Composer
James Brown   Composer
Vince Guaraldi   Composer
Harry Simeone   Composer
Franz Gruber   Composer
Felix Bernard   Composer
Leslie Bricusse   Composer
Mike Brown   Studio Chief
Sammy Cahn   Composer
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Katherine K. Davis   Composer
Haven Gillespie   Composer
Hugh Martin   Composer
Christian McBride   Producer
Don Murray   Engineer
Jay Newland   Engineer
Pryor   Producer
Jule Styne   Composer
Todd Whitelock   Engineer
Peter J. Wilhousky   Composer
Maria Ehrenreich   Producer
Ralph Blane   Composer
Lee Mendelson   Composer
Joseph Mohr   Composer
Alfred Ellis   Composer
Margi Denton   Art Direction
Will Wakefield   Producer
John T. Williams   Composer
Richard B. Smith   Composer
Mykola Leontovych   Composer
Ryan Pennington   Studio Manager
Henry Oronati   Composer
Fab Dupont   Producer,Engineer
Gretchen Valade   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews