Issa Album

Issa Album

by 21 Savage21 Savage


View All Available Formats & Editions


After building anticipation with a handful of self-released EPs and mixtapes, Atlanta-based rapper 21 Savage delivered his official major-label debut, Issa Album. The full-length trap effort featured production from the scene's most in-demand names, like Metro Boomin, Zaytoven, DJ Mustard, and Southside, whose hypnotic atmospherics provided an apt backdrop to Savage's bleak and hedonistic lyrics. Sex, drugs, street violence, and money are the typical themes, with the occasional introspection peppered in to balance the debauched with rare glimpses into his state of mind. More intense and serious than contemporaries like Lil Uzi Vert and Migos, Savage chronicles his rise to fame on "Famous" before getting grim on the dark "Close My Eyes" and "Dead People," where he raps "Percocets got me in my feelings" and then confesses "I've been drinking syrup/Seeing demons." The somber mood is seldom shaken, but when Savage switches subjects, it helps to elevate Issa above the generic. He opens up to heartbreak on the En Vogue-sampling "Thug Life" and professes love on "Special." On the Metro Boomin/Zaytoven collaboration "Nothin' New," he spits a socially conscious game that provides the most lyrical substance on Issa. While Young Thug appears on "Whole Lot," his presence isn't noticeable enough to warrant the lone feature on Issa. Surprisingly, the most interesting track on the album comes at the close. "7 Min Freestyle" proves that, left to his own devices, Savage has just enough skill to back up all his boasts. It's a satisfying moment on an effort packed with tracks that are occasionally indistinguishable from one to the next. Overall, Issa is a competent statement that demonstrates promise from the young rapper. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 09/29/2017
Label: Epic
UPC: 0889854668228
catalogNumber: 546682

Album Credits

Performance Credits

21 Savage   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Curtis Mayfield   Composer
Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson   Composer
Twice as Nice   Producer
Jake One   Producer
J.D. Anderson   Marketing
Wheezy   Producer
Derrick Selby   Engineer
Zaytoven   Producer
Xavier Dotson   Composer
Shane Hill   Music Business Affairs
DJ Mustard   Producer
Dijon McFarlane   Composer
Joshua "Southside" Luellen   Composer
Jacob Dutton   Composer
Courtney Lowery   Publicity
Southside   Producer
Christopher Feldmann   Art Direction
Sam Wishkoski   Composer
Bernie Lawrence-Watkins   Legal Advisor
Stephanie Yu   Music Business Affairs
Lewis Hughes   Composer
Nicholas Audino   Composer
Metro Boomin   Producer
Leland Wayne   Composer
Te Whiti Warbrick   Composer
Wesley Glass   Composer
Pi'erre Bourne   Composer,Producer
21 Savage   Composer,Producer
Jeffery Williams   Composer
Robert Faulstich   Music Business Affairs
Jamie Crawford-Walker   Marketing
Sam Wish   Producer
KeiSaundra Henderson   Management

Customer Reviews