Invitation Only

Invitation Only

by Will DowningWill Downing




Invitation Only is another typically tasteful and accomplished set of smooth jazz and urban R&B from Will Downing, who has recorded with a diverse set of musicians -- including Gerald Albright, Norman Brown, Kirk Whalum, Jonathan Butler and the Yellowjackets -- in support. The album is divided between standards, quiet storm R&B and new contemporary R&B. While there are still a few slow spots on the record where the style takes precedent over the material, Invitation Only once again confirms that Will Downing has such a rich, deep talent that he should be a much bigger star than he is.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/28/1997
Label: Motown
UPC: 0731453635029
catalogNumber: 536350


  1. Island
  2. All About You
  3. Angel
  4. I Don't Want to Lose You
  5. Eternal Love
  6. These Things
  7. If She Knew
  8. Personal
  9. If I Could
  10. Come to Me
  11. When Sunny Gets Blue
  12. Before We Say Goodbye

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Will Downing   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Gerald Albright   Bass,Saxophone
Jonathan Butler   Acoustic Guitar
Ronnie Foster   Background Vocals,Multi Instruments
Yellowjackets   Group,Track Performer
Norman Brown   Electric Guitar
Art Porter   Saxophone
Audrey Wheeler   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Michael Thompson   Guitar
Mike Campbell   Guitar
Jimmy Haslip   Bass
Katreese Barnes   Background Vocals
Bashiri Johnson   Percussion
Dave Carpenter   Acoustic Bass
Luis Conte   Percussion
James "D-Train" Williams   Background Vocals
Russell Ferrante   Piano
Sammy Figueroa   Percussion
Ronnie Garrett   Bass,Background Vocals
James Genus   Bass
Paul Jackson   Guitar
William Kennedy   Drums
Marva King   Background Vocals
Maxayn Lewis   Background Vocals
Peter Lord   Keyboards
Harvey Mason   Drums
Dave Metcen   Bass
Marcus Miller   Bass
Chieli Minucci   Guitar
Cindy Mizelle   Background Vocals
Rex Rideout   Keyboards,fender rhodes
Antoinette Roberson   Background Vocals
Ira Siegel   Acoustic Guitar
Daryl Simmons   Percussion,Keyboards
Fonzi Thornton   Background Vocals
Jerry Brooks   Bass
Rohn Lawrence   Guitar
Dwight Thompson   Background Vocals
Goodfellaz   Background Vocals
MACK Ninety Six   Drums,Keyboards
Binky Bryce   Guitar
Leslie Lemon   Bass
Daryl Garrett   Percussion
Tanya Smith   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jorge Del Barrio   Conductor
Buddy Williams   Drums

Technical Credits

Will Downing   Arranger,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Arrangements
Gerald Albright   Contributor
Jonathan Butler   Contributor
Ronnie Foster   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Norman Brown   Contributor
Webster Lewis   String Arrangements
Family Stand   Producer
Carl Beatty   Engineer
Alex Bugnon   Contributor
Chris Cameron   String Arrangements
Bruce Carbone   Executive Producer
Ronnie Garrett   Producer
Ben Garrison   Engineer
Brad Gilderman   Engineer
Thom "TK" Kidd   Engineer
Rex Rideout   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Daryl Simmons   Producer,drum programming
Richard Travali   Engineer
Stan Wallace   Engineer
Kirk Whalum   Contributor
Jeffrey "Woody" Woodruff   Engineer
Margery Greenspan   Art Direction
MACK Ninety Six   Engineer,drum programming
Sandra Monteparo   Artwork
Aman Malik   Engineer
Calvin Harris   Engineer

Customer Reviews