by Pet Shop BoysPet Shop Boys


View All Available Formats & Editions


Featuring a mere six tracks, most of them well over six minutes in length, Introspective was a move back to the clubs for the Pet Shop Boys. Over the course of the album, they incorporated various dance techniques that were currently in vogue, including Latin rhythms and house textures. The title isn't entirely an arch joke, however. Like Actually, Introspective was an exploration of distant, disaffected yuppies, which naturally resulted in a good deal of self-analyzation. Melodically, the essential song structures were as strong and multi-layered as the previous album, yet that was hard to hear beneath the varying rhythmic textures that composed the bulk of each track. Nevertheless, the mixes are more compelling than the remixes on Disco, and the songs include several of their best numbers, including "Left to My Own Devices" and "Domino Dancing," as well as the reconstruction of "Always on My Mind" and a cover of Blaze's club classic, "It's Alright."

Product Details

Release Date: 07/29/2008
Label: Collectables
UPC: 0090431105429
catalogNumber: 1054

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pet Shop Boys   Primary Artist
Mike Bakst   Keyboards
Sharon Blackwell   Vocals
Sally Bradshaw   Vocals
Ed Calle   Brass
Tony Concepcion   Trumpet,Brass
Nestor Gomez   Guitar
Derek Green   Vocals
Paul Lee   Vocals
Richard Niles   Conductor
Fro Sosa   Keyboards
Iris Sutherland   Vocals
Yvonne White   Vocals
Judy Bennett   Vocals
Mario Friendo   Vocals
Herbie Joseph   Vocals
Gee Morris   Vocals
Dee Ricketts   Vocals
Voice in Fashion   Background Vocals
Dana Tebor   Brass
Kenneth William Faulk   Brass

Technical Credits

Pet Shop Boys   Producer,Cover Design
Frankie Knuckles   Producer
Mark James   Composer
Mike Bakst   Brass Arrangment
Johnny Christopher   Composer
Mike Couzzi   Engineer
Trevor Horn   Producer
Marshall Jefferson   Composer
Chris Lowe   Composer
Lewis A. Martineé   Producer,Engineer,Brass Arrangment
Julian Mendelsohn   Producer,Engineer
Michael Nelson   Engineer
Richard Niles   Arranger
Andy Richards   Programming
Neil Tennant   Composer
Blue Weaver   Programming
David Jacob   Producer,Engineer
Mark Farrow   Cover Design
Wayne Carson Thompson   Composer
At Three Associates   Cover Design
Stephen Lipson   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews