Into the Woods [Original Soundtrack]

Into the Woods [Original Soundtrack]


$7.55 $12.99 Save 42% Current price is $7.55, Original price is $12.99. You Save 42%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The original soundtrack to Disney's 2014 film adaptation of Into the Woods reveals a few changes to the beloved Stephen Sondheim musical, but for the most part keeps its soul intact. The film, which offers a modern take on a number of different Brothers Grimm fairy tales, stars Meryl Streep as the witch who has cursed a baker (James Corden) and his wife (Emily Blunt) to a childless life. In order to break the curse, they must venture into the woods where they encounter characters like Cinderella (Anna Kendrick), Rapunzel (MacKenzie Mauzy), Red Riding Hood (Lilla Crawford), the Wolf (Johnny Depp), and Jack (Daniel Huttlestone) of beanstalk fame. The well-chosen cast offers spirited and musically adept renditions of the well-known stage songs like "Giants in the Sky," "Any Moment," "Agony," and "Stay with Me." The part of the narrator has been transferred to the baker character and a few of the original songs have been modified ("Ever After" is presented here only as an instrumental) or omitted from the film version. Still, the Hollywood treatment has done more good than harm and fans of the stage version will likely be charmed by this colorful cast and the elegant orchestrations.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/15/2014
Label: Walt Disney Records
UPC: 0050087317935
catalogNumber: 002124092
Rank: 5426

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tracey Ullman   Vocals
Paul Gemignani   Conductor
Meryl Streep   Vocals
Christine Baranski   Vocals
Johnny Depp   Vocals
Julian Kershaw   Conductor
Metro Voices   Choir, Chorus
Joanna Riding   Vocals
Annette Crosbie   Vocals
Tammy Blanchard   Vocals
Simon Russell Beale   Vocals
Karen Jones   Flute
Richard Glover   Vocals
James Corden   Vocals
Anna Kendrick   Vocals
Daniel Huttlestone   Vocals
Mackenzie Mauzy   Vocals
Lilla Crawford   Vocals
Lucy Punch   Vocals
Billy Magnussen   Vocals
Frances De La Tour   Vocals
Chris Pine   Vocals
Emily Blunt   Vocals

Technical Credits

Stephen Sondheim   Composer,Lyricist
Jonathan Tunick   Orchestration
Mike Higham   Arranger,Producer
Bruce Witkin   Vocal Producer
Rolf Wilson   Orchestra Leader
Mitchell Leib   Executive Producer
Julian Kershaw   Orchestration
Andrew Dudman   Engineer
Chris Barrett   Engineering
David Krane   Music Adaptations
Kevin Amos   Rehearsal Accompanist
Marc Platt   Executive Producer
Rob Marshall   Producer,Liner Notes
Matthew Margeson   Arranger
John Deluca   Producer

Customer Reviews