Into the Harbour

Into the Harbour

by Southside Johnny & the Asbury Jukes Southside Johnny & the Asbury Jukes


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, December 3


Freed from working with major labels, Southside Johnny Lyon began making some of the strongest albums of his career when he launched his own Leroy Records label in 2000 with the album Messin' with the Blues, and 2006's Into the Harbour finds him still sounding vibrant, soulful, and passionate 30 years into his recording career. Fronting a solid lineup of Jukes (featuring most of the horn players from the band's 1970s heyday), Lyon shows his age a bit on Into the Harbour, but in a positive way -- if his voice is a little grainier than it was in his youth, he's still a forceful R&B shouter of the first order, and while this music recalls the hard-edged Jersey Shore show band of the group's early days, the soul and blues influences are purer, with a maturity that reveals Lyon is putting his years of experience to good use. Lyon wrote four of the songs with keyboard man Jeff Kazee, and he hasn't sounded this open and comfortable as a tunesmith in ages, contemplating the passage of time on the title track, emulating classic Motown soul on "Dancing on the Edge of the World," and conjuring the sound of the Hi Records rhythm section on "The Time Between." Lyon has also grown as an interpretive singer, becoming more adventurous with his choices of outside material (and digging into the songbooks of Tom Waits, Richard Thompson, and Delbert McClinton to fine effect) while finding a voice and sound of his own in the work of other songwriters. And the straightforward production on Into the Harbour suits Lyon and his band beautifully -- these sessions sound clear and powerful without a veneer of slickness, and there's far more life in this album than most of the LPs Lyon cut for Mercury and Mirage in the 1980s. Into the Harbour finds Southside Johnny enjoying a surprising and resonant second wind as a recording artist, and it proves he's got a lot more to offer than many folks would expect in his fourth decade in rock & roll.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 12/09/2016
Label: Leroy Records
UPC: 0760137960027
catalogNumber: 9600
Rank: 136485


  1. Happy
  2. Dancing on the Edge of the World
  3. You're My Girl (I Don't Want to Discuss It)
  4. Into the Harbour
  5. Hang Down Your Head
  6. The Time Between
  7. When Rita Leaves
  8. Don't Call Me Baby
  9. Tear Stained Letter
  10. All in My Mind
  11. Nothing But a Heartache

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Southside Johnny & the Asbury Jukes   Primary Artist
Bobby Bandiera   Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Bob Burger   Background Vocals
Southside Johnny   Harmonica,Vocals,Group Member
Mark Pender   Trumpet,Background Vocals,Soloist,Group Member
Richie Rosenberg   Trombone,Background Vocals,Group Member
Joey Stann   Tenor Saxophone,Reikin,Group Member
Joe Bellia   Drums,Group Member
Chris Anderson   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Soloist,Group Member
Jeff Kazee   Piano,Accordion,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Wurlitzer,Group Member,Hammond B3
Muddy Shews   Bass,Group Member

Technical Credits

Delbert McClinton   Composer
Maxine Brown   Composer
Mick Jagger   Composer
Richard Thompson   Composer
Tom Waits   Composer
Freddy Johnson   Composer
Wayne Bickerton   Composer
Felix Cavaliere   Composer
Dick Cooper   Composer
Leroy Kirkland   Composer
Gary Nicholson   Composer
Brendan O'Brien   Engineer
Keith Richards   Composer
Tony Waddington   Composer
Mike Rew   Engineer
Ernie Shelby   Composer
Chris Anderson   Horn Arrangements
Jeff Kazee   Composer,String Arrangements
Beth Beatty   Composer
John Lyon   Composer,Producer
John Cavanaugh   Band Photo

Customer Reviews