Instant Party

Instant Party

by Mel TorméMel Tormé


3 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Concord's Instant Party series selects the most exuberant performances from the repertoire of their many good candidates -- Tito Puente, Mongo Santamaria, and now Mel Tormé. Tormé recorded loads of great material for Concord during the last 15 years of his career, much of it in the vein for a good cocktail party. Featuring a lot of material in the concert setting where Tormé excelled, the compilation opens with a hilariously self-effacing "I'm Hip" ("I'm so hip I read People magazine") and a similarly amusing "Give Me the Simple Life." Not all of the inclusions encapsulate the concept; "All God's Chillun Got Rhythm," "Aren't You Glad You're You," and "The Carioca" are light enough but not effusive enough. Still, it's a cheap and effective introduction to the magic Mel Tormé created during his AARP years.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/11/2004
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0013431224020
catalogNumber: 2240

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mel Tormé   Primary Artist,Vocals
Dan Barrett   Trombone
Ed Bickert   Guitar
Allen Farnham   Piano
Gary Foster   Alto Saxophone
Jeff Hamilton   Drums
Rob McConnell   Conductor,Valve Trombone
Dave McMurdo   Trombone
Ken Peplowski   Tenor Saxophone
George Shearing   Piano,scat
Neil Swainson   Bass,Double Bass
Don Thompson   Double Bass
Brian Torff   Bass,Double Bass
Bob Enevoldsen   Valve Trombone
Pete Jolly   Piano,Keyboards
Moe Koffman   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Guido Basso   Harmonica,Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Alex Dean   Clarinet,Flute,Tenor Saxophone
John Von Ohlen   Drums
Eugene Amaro   Tenor Saxophone
Chuck Berghofer   Bass,Double Bass
Arnie Chycoski   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Bob Efford   Baritone Saxophone
Jack Sheldon   Trumpet
Bob Leonard   Clarinet,Flute,Bass Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone
Brian Leonard   Percussion
Bob Livingston   Trombone
Warren Luening   Trumpet
John MacLeod   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Marty Paich   Conductor
Steve McDade   Trumpet
Ian McDougall   Trombone
Lew McReary   Trombone
Donny Osborne   Drums
Reg Schwager   Guitar
Jim Self   Tuba
George Stimpson   French Horn
Jerry Toth   Alto Saxophone
Erich Traugott   Trumpet
Steve Wallace   Bass
Ted Warren   Drums
Rick Wilkins   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Dave Woods   Trumpet,Violin
Alastair Kay   Trombone
Ernie Pattison   Bass Trombone
Gary Pattison   French Horn
Dave Restivo   Piano
Kevin Turcotte   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Jim Vivian   Bass
Don Thompson Quartet   Bass
Robert Leonard   Baritone Saxophone
Jerry Fuller   Drums
John "Woog" Johnson   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Jerry Johnson   Trombone
Jimmy Dale   Piano
James MacDonald   French Horn
Rob Hughes   Bass Trombone

Technical Credits

Marc Blitzstein   Composer
Kurt Weill   Composer
Bob Dorough   Composer
Dave Frishberg   Composer
Rob McConnell   Arranger
George Shearing   Composer
Dave Lambert   Composer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Don Ray   Composer
Bertolt Brecht   Composer
Bronislaw Kaper   Composer
Benny Carter   Composer
Ben Bernie   Composer
Rube Bloom   Composer
Lew Brown   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Gene DePaul   Composer
Buddy DeSylva   Composer
Howard Dietz   Composer
Ray Henderson   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Marty Paich   Arranger
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Harry Ruby   Composer
Arthur Schwartz   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Abbey Anna   Art Direction
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Kenneth Casey   Composer
Edward Eliscu   Composer
Edgar Leslie   Composer
Walter Jurmann   Composer
George W. Meyer   Composer
Kurt Sievert   Art Direction
E. Ray Goetz   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews