by RancidRancid


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


These Bay Area punk standard-bearers are still Clash-obsessed after all these years, but that's not exactly the worst thing in the world. Where Rancid's last, self-titled outing set the controls for the heart of '77, maintaining dangerous speed levels and maximum venom, Indestructible is something of a nod to Sandinista!, with its surfeit of off-the-beaten-path ramblings. Rancid show surprisingly deft footwork in moving from organ-fueled soul ("Fall Back Down") to convincingly beachy surf-rock (the infectiously bouncy "Memphis"). Diehards needn't fret too much, though: The quartet still flex plenty of muscle when they get down to business with bare-knuckled ska-punk ditties like "Red Hot Moon" and the semi-autobiographical "Spirit of '87." Indestructible has a couple of clinkers hidden in its depths -- notably the generic "Travis Bickle" -- but when a band is capable of hitting grand slams like the piano-laced, Faces-via-CBGB "Arrested in Shanghai," an occasional strikeout is easy to forgive.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/08/2003
Label: Epitaph
UPC: 0045778045129
catalogNumber: 80451
Rank: 8599


  1. Indestructible
  2. Fall Back Down
  3. Red Hot Moon
  4. David Courtney
  5. Start Now
  6. Out of Control
  7. Django
  8. Arrested in Shanghai
  9. Travis Bickle
  10. Memphis
  11. Spirit of '87
  12. Ghost Band
  13. Tropical London
  14. Roadblock
  15. Born Frustrated
  16. Back up Against the Wall
  17. Ivory Coast
  18. Stand Your Ground
  19. Otherside

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rancid   Primary Artist
Siedah Garrett   Vocals
Tim Armstrong   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Brett Gurewitz   Vocals
Luis Conte   Percussion
Matt Freeman   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Brett Reed   Drums,Group Member
Victor Ruggiero   Keyboards
Skinhead Rob   Vocals

Technical Credits

Chuck Berry   Composer
Debbie Gibson   Composer
John Lewis   Composer
Tim Armstrong   Composer,Cover Photo
Brett Gurewitz   Producer,Engineer
Lars Frederiksen   Composer
Brett Reed   Composer
Nick Raskulinecz   Engineer
Andrew Alekel   Engineer

Customer Reviews