The Incredible True Story

The Incredible True Story

by LogicLogic

CD(Special Edition)

$18.48 $18.99 Save 3% Current price is $18.48, Original price is $18.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With a story that takes place 100 years in the future, Logic's sophomore LP is also a concept album, and with the Gaithersburg, Maryland MC's vibrant, ambitious debut providing evidence the young artist could do it, it doesn't take long for The Incredible True Story to live up to its title. The "true" bit comes from the album's honest yet uplifting message, as early highlight "Fade Away" gives up "Everybody's gonna die, gonna go one day/Maybe it'll happen on a Monday, drop in to work and get hit by a Hyundai," as that flippant wisdom is delivered with Logic's usual breakneck speed. As fast as he raps, it's arguable that the musical ideas come even faster, with the flute-driven "Like Woah" reimagining hip-hop in the age of hippies and flower power, while highlight "Young Jesus" kicks with the old-school boom-bap from 6ix and Sir Dylan, as this clever devil MC gets in the Eminem spirit with "Eat whack MCs like Hannibal/Cause Joe Pesci's my spirit animal." Much of the album comes off as a De La Soul-like kaleidoscope with that OutKast attitude of anything goes, and then cuts like "Lord Willin'" and "Paradise" with Jesse Boykins III offer something new, with a small funk band formation delivering music that could easily be reproduced on-stage. This kinetic album can get flashy, and the sci-fi interludes grow as big as a Michael Bay movie, yet it is anchored by the more thoughtful numbers, like the wise "Never Been" ("You gotta climb over your ego to master your will") and the overwhelming title cut, where Logic delivers a stream of consciousness looking back at his life and in a style somewhere between Kendrick Lamar and a jazz singer. The guest list is lean plus the production is mostly from in-house folks like 6ix, DJ Khalil, and Logic himself, and the whole experience is like Prince in his heyday, where a creative force and a tight-knit crew create something startling and fully formed. An outward-aimed Drake is another comparison, based on style and swagger, but like the album's intro says as it captures two future cosmonauts going through music from 2015, this is the album where it all changed, as the one they call Young Sinatra comes into his own and proves his nearly perfect debut was no isolated fluke.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/13/2015
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0602547609663
catalogNumber: 002412102
Rank: 7684

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Logic   Primary Artist,Drums
Christopher Thornton   Vocals
Kevin Randolph   Synthesizer,Bass,Flute,Piano,Strings,Harp,Horn,Vocals,fender rhodes,String Pads,Synthesizer Pads
Patrick Wolf   Strings
Crystal Torres   Trumpet
Steve Wyreman   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,CS-80,Hammond B3
Josh Lippi   Bass Guitar
Brian Thornton   Vocals
Big Sean   Vocals
Thomas Lea   Violin,Viola
Bobby Campbell   Percussion
Nate Mercereau   Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,French Horn
Chris Thornton   Vocals,Background Vocals
Steve Blum   Vocals
Claire Courchene   Trombone,Cello
Jayden Wiggins   Bass Guitar
Big Lenbo   Background Vocals
Anna Elyse Palchikoff   Vocals
Diondria Thornton   Vocals,Background Vocals
Dylan   Synthesizer,Bass,Flute,Piano,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Choir, Chorus,Mellotron,Vibes,fender rhodes,Hammond B3
Leon Ressalam   Vocals
6ix   Electric Guitar
Thomas Occhiuto   Flute

Technical Credits

Steve Hackett   Composer
John Cameron   Composer
Lawrence Matthews   Composer
Gilbert O'Sullivan   Composer
Gene Puerling   Composer
Henry Binns   Composer
Sam Hardaker   Composer
Robert Diggs   Composer
Jose Gonzalez   Composer
Renee Scroggins   Composer
Kevin Randolph   Choir Arrangement
Richard Wylie   Composer
Jim Diamond   Composer
Daniel Seeff   Composer
Patrick Wolf   Composer
Christopher Bear   Composer
Edward Droste   Composer
Sam Barsh   Composer
Logic   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Daniel Rossen   Composer
C-Sick   Producer
Anthony Hester   Composer
Christopher Taylor   Composer
Jeff Gitelman   Composer
Bobby Campbell   Engineer,Whistle
James Blake   Composer
DJ Dahi   Producer
Ozan Yildirim   Composer
Sam Spratt   Artwork
Stefan Ponce   Composer,Producer
Joshua Scruggs   Composer
Syk Sense   Producer
Casey Cuayo   Engineer
Dylan Wiggins   Composer
Tae Beast   Producer
Arjun Ivatury   Composer,Executive Producer
Chris Zarou   Executive Producer
Robert Bryson Hall   Composer,Executive Producer
Charles Dumazer   Composer
Khalil Abdul-Rahman   Composer
Dylan   Producer
Leon Ressalam   Composer
6ix   Producer
Dante Lamar Perkins   Composer
DJ Kahlil   Producer

Customer Reviews