In Time: The Best of R.E.M. 1988-2003 (Ltd. Ed.)

In Time: The Best of R.E.M. 1988-2003 (Ltd. Ed.)

by R.E.M.R.E.M.


$20.50 $20.99 Save 2% Current price is $20.5, Original price is $20.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


As retrospectives go, this seminal band's second trip back in time is every bit as charming as the first -- although considerably different in tenor than the 1988 collection, Eponymous. That's not surprising, given the restlessness that gripped R.E.M. in the early and middle periods of their arena-filling years. Taking in both the group's most pop-savvy moments ("Losing My Religion" and "Stand") and its purposefully obscure forays ("What's the Frequency, Kenneth" and "E-Bow the Letter," to name two), the disc is something of a crazy quilt, but one that makes a terrific wrap. In Time also does a fine job of redirecting attention to tunes -- like "Nightswimming" -- that have become concert staples for the band, despite the fact that they didn't set the charts ablaze. The disc contains a pair of new songs, each representing a facet of R.E.M.'s schizoid personality. "Bad Day," with its stream-of-consciousness lyric and careening melody, evokes memories of "It's the End of the World as We Know It," while "Animal," on the other hand, emphasizes brawn over brains, stomping with surprisingly single-minded intensity. It's a trip back In Time that holds much promise for the future -- even as the band dives headlong into its third decade.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/28/2003
Label: Imports
UPC: 0093624855026
catalogNumber: 4855026
Rank: 7470


Disc 1

  1. Man on the Moon
  2. The Great Beyond
  3. Bad Day
  4. What's the Frequency Kenneth?
  5. All the Way to Reno (You're Gonna Be a Star)
  6. Losing My Religion
  7. E-Bow the Letter
  8. Orange Crush
  9. Imitation of Life
  10. Daysleeper
  11. Animal
  12. The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
  13. Stand
  14. Electrolite
  15. All the Right Friends
  16. Everybody Hurts
  17. At My Most Beautiful
  18. Nightswimming

Disc 2

  1. Pop Song '89
  2. Turn You Inside-Out (From Tourfilm)
  3. Fretless (From Until the End of the World soundtrack)
  4. Chance
  5. It's a Free World Baby (From Coneheads soundtrack)
  6. Drive
  7. Star Me Kitten (Feat. William Burroughs; from X-Files)
  8. Revolution (From Batman and Robin soundtrack)
  9. Leave (From A Life Less Ordinary soundtrack)
  10. Why Not Smile
  11. The Lifting
  12. Beat a Drum
  13. 2JN
  14. The One I Love
  15. Country Feedback

Album Credits

Customer Reviews