In the Lonely Hour [Drowning Shadows Edition]

In the Lonely Hour [Drowning Shadows Edition]

by Sam SmithSam Smith


$22.53 $24.99 Save 10% Current price is $22.53, Original price is $24.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Disclosure's loping dance-pop single "Latch," a number 11 U.K. hit in 2012, introduced Sam Smith, a London-born vocalist with a deeply emotive voice. Smith grew up listening to R&B giants Chaka Khan, Luther Vandross, and Whitney Houston, but his first impression was unique, not merely for the richness of his voice, but its resoundingly expressive yet naturally delivered manner -- on a level most singers can't match with maximum effort. Early 2013 brought his debut solo single, "Lay Me Down" -- an aching singer/songwriter-soul throwback that scraped the U.K. Top 50. It was quickly eclipsed by a lead role on Naughty Boy's "La La La," a breakbeat-driven tearjerker that went to number one in the U.K. and then reached the Top 20 in the U.S. "Money on My Mind," an upbeat statement of purpose more about the soul than the heart, and "Stay with Me," a torch song with a gospel-inspired chorus, were Smith's second and third solo singles. They preceded the release of In the Lonely Hour, the singer and songwriter's debut album. Those three solo singles are here, along with seven new songs that tend to cast Smith as a heartbroken balladeer. Deep sorrow informs most of the material. Much more about mourning than movement here, Smith is bold for not attempting to capitalize on the Disclosure and Naughty Boy hits. The dominance of stripped-down backdrops -- some with merely piano, acoustic guitar, and conservative strings -- is somewhat surprising. That puts all the more focus on Smith's voice and words, the latter of which switch between borderline maudlin ("What use is money when you need someone to hold?") and disarmingly brazen ("Just leave your lover, leave him for me"). If Smith didn't have such a remarkable voice, he could stay busy composing songs for artists in several genres; the anthemic "Like I Can" could be easily adapted for a contemporary country singer, while a few others could be turned over to young pop artists in need of material that makes them sound more human. This is an understated and promising first step from an unpredictable and distinctive talent. [The "Drowning Shadows Edition" should not be confused with any of the territory- or retailer-specific deluxe editions issued at the same time as (or after) the original standard version of In the Lonely Hour. Released in time for the 2015 holiday shopping season, this adds an assortment of previously released stray tracks and some new material. Among the notable additions: a version of "Stay with Me," featuring John Legend, that topped the U.K. chart earlier in 2015; a cover of Amy Winehouse's "Love Is a Losing Game"; and "Drowning Shadows" itself.]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2015
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602547602862
catalogNumber: 002412002
Rank: 4678

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sam Smith   Primary Artist,Vocals
Steve Fitzmaurice   Drums
Earl Harvin   Percussion,Drums
Harry Robinson   Cello
Simon Hale   Conductor
Everton Nelson   Leader
Warren Zielinski   Leader
Fraser T. Smith   Guitar
Eg White   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Strings,Cymbals,Background Vocals
Jodi Milliner   Bass,Guitar,Bass Guitar
Ben Thomas   Guitar
Matt Prime   Keyboards
Darren Heelis   Bass,Keyboards
Victoria Lyon   Leader
William Phillips   Organ,Piano
Jimmy Napes   Percussion,Drums
Jonny Coffer   Strings
Frobisher Mbabazi   Keyboards
Howard Lawrence   Piano
Reuben James   Organ,Piano
Charles Wong   Piano

Technical Credits

Jeff Lynne   Composer
Tom Petty   Composer
Steve Fitzmaurice   Producer,Engineer,drum programming,Vocal Engineer
Isobel Griffiths   String Contractor
George Merrill   Composer
Narada Michael Walden   Composer
Shannon Rubicam   Composer
Simon Hale   Engineer,String Arrangements
Elvin Smith   Composer
James Murray   Composer,Programming,Engineer,Instrumentation
Fraser T. Smith   Composer,Producer
Eg White   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Amy Winehouse   Composer
Naughty Boy   Programming,Producer
Zane Lowe   Composer,Programming,Producer
Simon Aldred   Composer
Matt Prime   Composer
Darren Heelis   Programming,Engineer,Vocal Engineer
William Phillips   Composer
Wez Clarke   Programming
Sam Smith   Composer
Jimmy Napes   Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
James Napier   Composer
Mustafa Omer   Composer,Programming,Engineer,Instrumentation
Ben Ash   Composer
Harry Craze   Composer
Michael Angelo   Vocal Engineer
Drew Smith   Engineer
Shahid Khan   Composer
Two Inch Punch   Arranger,Producer,drum programming,Instrumentation
Anup Paul   Composer
Hugo Chegwin   Composer
Jonny Coffer   Composer
Rakim Mayers   Composer
Frobisher Mbabazi   Composer
Al-Hakam El Kaubaisy   Composer
Howard Lawrence   Composer,Producer
Guy Lawrence   Composer
Mojam   Producer,drum programming,Additional Production
Komi   Producer,Instrumentation
Charles Wong   Engineer
Amy Stewart   String Contractor
Studio Moross   Artwork

Customer Reviews