In the Lap of Tigers: The Communist Labor University of Jiangxi Province

In the Lap of Tigers: The Communist Labor University of Jiangxi Province

by John Cleverley


Usually ships within 6 days


Founded in the remote mountains of China's Jiangxi Province in 1958, the Communist Labor University introduced uneducated laborers to basic agricultural science and farming techniques through an innovative work-study program until 1980. Drawing on a wealth of archival materials, John Cleverley explores the inner workings of this unique institution and the personal involvement of Mao Zedong, Zhou Enlai, Zhu De, and Deng Xiaoping. Illuminating the internal and external politics of a remarkable social experiment from both an institutional and personal perspective, the book underscores the larger issues of educational reform and political change in China.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780847699360
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 03/01/2000
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 6.16(w) x 9.24(h) x 0.84(d)

About the Author

John Cleverley is honorary professor, University of Sydney, and managing director of Asian Overseas Services Party Ltd.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 List of Photographs Chapter 2 Abbreviations and Terms Chapter 3 Preface Chapter 4 Map Chapter 5 Introduction: Setting the Scene Part 6 I: ESTABLISHMENT Chapter 7 1 Great Expectations Chapter 8 2 The Founding Chapter 9 3 Branches of Gongda Chapter 10 4 A Dark Side Part 11 II: EDUCATIONAL WORK Chapter 12 5 Classroom and Farm Chapter 13 6 "Staffers, Laborers, and Researchers." Part 14 III: ON POLITICS Chapter 15 7 Guidance from the Chairman Chapter 16 8 A Role for Ideology Chapter 17 9 On Political Movements Part 18 IV: STEPS BACK AND FORWARD Chapter 19 10 Famine and Fortitude Chapter 20 11 A Letter from Mao Zedong Chapter 21 12 Good Friends Rally Chapter 22 13 "The Golden Years" Part 23 V: CYCLE OF REVOLUTION Chapter 24 14 Cultural Wars Chapter 25 15 An Open Door Chapter 26 16 Trial by Media Chapter 27 17 Attacked by Left and Right Part 28 VI: LIFE AND LEGEND Chapter 29 18 Decision Point Chapter 30 19 Life after Death Chapter 31 Afterword Chapter 32 Notes Chapter 33 Select Bibliography Chapter 34 Index Chapter 35 About the Author

Customer Reviews