In the Falling Dark [Bonus Tracks]

In the Falling Dark [Bonus Tracks]

by Bruce CockburnBruce Cockburn


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 22


With every album he released during the first half of the '70s, Bruce Cockburn continued to evolve and show signs of greatness, and with his seventh, In the Falling Dark, he makes good on these promises. As a whole, this record trumps anything that its predecessors had to offer, almost to the point where it's difficult to imagine that it followed the release of Joy Will Find a Way by only a year. The sound that was merely suggested on his previous recordings is fully realized here: check out the flute and trumpet interplay on the jazz-inflected instrumental "Giftbearer," the hypnotic "I'm Gonna Fly Someday" with its irresistible flute, horn, and voice line, and Fred Stone's flügelhorn on "Silver Wheels." Furthermore, the songwriting is without a doubt his most consistent; "Lord of the Starfields" and the evocative title track are the pinnacle of his Christian mysticism, whereas the aforementioned "Silver Wheels" is one of his keenest social observations to date. There's still the occasional slide into the sort of hippie-ish sentiments that have plagued his recordings from time to time, but even at its most mawkish, there's a sweetness and warmth to the material. His first U.S. release since 1972, In the Falling Dark may not have made Bruce Cockburn a household name, but it did mark his emergence as an important artist.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/07/2009
Label: True North
UPC: 0620638028520
catalogNumber: 285
Rank: 42288


  1. Lord of the Starfields
  2. Vagabondage
  3. In the Falling Dark
  4. Little Seahorse
  5. Water Into Wine
  6. Silver Wheels
  7. Giftbearer
  8. Gavin's Woodpile
  9. I'm Gonna Fly Some Day
  10. Festival of Friends
  11. Red Brother Red Sister
  12. Untitled Guitar
  13. Shepherds
  14. Dweller by a Dark Stream

Album Credits

Customer Reviews