In the Country of the Blind

In the Country of the Blind

by Matthew Arkin

Paperback

$15.95
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

"A dead body is a lousy way to end a first date."

So begins In the Country of the Blind, a modern noir tale that takes readers into the world of former attorney-turned building superintendent Zach Brandis. When Zach abandoned his promising legal career, it confused everyone, including himself. Now, with no apparent purpose in life, he has time enough on his hands to get into some very hot water.

When Zach takes Cynthia Hull to dinner, murder and a confrontation with the cops are the last things on his mind. But when he walks her home, he finds himself face to face with New York's finest, who are investigating the suspicious death of the actress's roommate and friend, Alex Penworth. Maybe it's because Cynthia is beautiful and vulnerable, or maybe it's just because the cops rub him the wrong way, but Zach steps in to shield her from their persistent questions. In the days following, Zach finds himself increasingly tied up in knots over the case, and what starts as simple curiosity may end up putting the former attorney in grave danger.

Captivated by the puzzle of Alex's death, Zach begins to play with the pieces. When Cynthia's apartment is ransacked shortly the murder, it becomes clear that Alex was hiding something, something of value to someone. Looking into Alex's mysterious activities in the weeks before his death, more questions begin to emerge: Why was Alex fired from his bartending job? Why is a beautiful undercover narc hanging around the bar where Alex worked, and trying to keep Zach away? Why do the cops seem uninterested in the inconsistencies in Alex's autopsy report? As Zach puts the pieces in place, a picture of the victim begins to emerge: Alex, another lost soul, plagued by his past and the demons of the cult he escaped - a man who, like Zach, abandoned a promising career to struggle as a going-nowhere actor/bartender. Driven by his feeling of kinship with the victim, can Zach discover what ultimately led to Alex's death, and still get himself out of harm's way before it's too late?

A dark and witty tale in the vein of John Sandford and Lawrence Block, In the Country of the Blind is a true page-turner, suspenseful from beginning to end. This character-driven thriller will have readers on the edge of their seats, driven, like Zach, to uncover the secrets behind the gruesome murder.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780989797801
Publisher: Hawkshaw Books
Publication date: 12/13/2013
Pages: 318
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.67(d)

About the Author

Matthew Arkin is a critically acclaimed actor, an acting teacher, and a recovering attorney. He attributes his skill for crafting dialogue and creating characters to his more than forty-five years of experience on stage, television, and film, and to reading approximately one suspense thriller per week since he was a young child.

Following the advice of one of his moms, author Barbara Dana, to "write what you know," Arkin created Zach Brandis and the novel In the Country of the Blind. Like Zach, Arkin gave up a career as a lawyer. Like Zach, he was born, raised, went to law school, and spent most of his life in and around New York City. It is his love affair with the city, as well as his experiences as a former attorney and victim of cult abuse, that allow him to approach Zach's story with such a high degree of depth and realism.

For more information, visit matthewarkin.com. To sign up for his newsletter, visit

Customer Reviews