Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
In a Space Outta Sound

In a Space Outta Sound

In a Space Outta Sound

In a Space Outta Sound

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 2


One of the prime architects of the organic grooves later dubbed trip-hop, Nightmares on Wax deserted their early formula in 2002 only when it became respectable and a crossover appeared most likely. With the air cleared of downtempo cash-ins, producer George Evelyn and producer/keyboardist Robin Taylor-Firth went right back to dub-heavy trip-hop with In a Space Outta Sound. Unsurprisingly, Nightmares on Wax remain among the best at constructing simple grooves with endless depths; their only rival is Massive Attack. The centerpiece is "Damn," seven and a half minutes of gently undulating hip-hop courtesy of a reedy Al Hirt sample (familiar from its use by De La Soul) that eventually flowers into an R&B jam with a gospel choir. The other highlight is the hypnotic rocksteady groove of "Flip Ya Lid" with vocals from Ricky Rankin. As with past NoW releases, In a Space Outta Sound boasts an emphasis on sound architecture that requires expensive stereo equipment (or bucket loads of narcotics) to fully appreciate.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/21/2014
Label: Warp Records
UPC: 0801061013318
catalogNumber: 133
Rank: 7821


  1. Passion
  2. The Sweetest
  3. Flip Ya Lid
  4. Pudpots
  5. Damn
  6. You Wish
  7. Deepdown
  8. Chime Out
  9. Me!
  10. I Am You
  11. Soul Purpose
  12. African Pirates

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nightmares on Wax   Primary Artist
Ease & D.J.   Vocals
Yvonne Lewis   Vocals,Background Vocals
Shovel   Percussion,Vocals
Robin Taylor-Firth   Keyboards
George Evelyn   Guitar
Kevin Harper   Vocals
Chris Dawkins   Guitar,Vocals
Isaac Heywood   Drums
Victoria Anitolia   Vocals
Awsa Bergstrom   Vocals,Background Vocals
Shaneem Dawkins   Vocals
Shane Dickinson   Vocals
Amanda "Mysttc" Evelyn   Vocals
Mali Evelyn   Vocals
Haggis Horns   Horn Section
Lodanna Harley   Vocals
Simon "Thunder" Hylton   Vocals
Stephanie Mead   Vocals
Marissa Muhammad   Vocals,Background Vocals
Osmond Wright   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Posies   Composer
Ease & D.J.   Producer
Mike Pela   Producer
Shovel   beats
Jerry Weaver   Composer
Robin Taylor-Firth   Composer,Producer
George Evelyn   Producer
Eddie Roberts   Contributor

Customer Reviews