Immanuel Kant's Collection [ 8 Books ]

Immanuel Kant's Collection [ 8 Books ]

by Immanuel Kant

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


This book contain collection of 8 books

1. The Critique of Pure Reason [1781, 1787]
2. The Critique of Practical Reason [1788]
3. The Critique of Judgement.
4. The Critique of Judgement [1790]
5. Introduction to the Metaphysic of Morals
6. Fundamental Principles of the Metaphysic of Morals [1790]
7. The Metaphysical Elements of Ethics
8. The Science of Right [1790]

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013302105
Publisher: Publish This, LLC
Publication date: 10/18/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 270,597
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Immanuel Kant

Kant defined the Enlightenment, in the essay "Answering the Question: What is Enlightenment?", as an age shaped by the motto, "Dare to know". This involved thinking autonomously, free of the dictates of external authority. Kant's work served as a bridge between the Rationalist and Empiricist traditions of the 18th century. He had a decisive impact on the Romantic and German Idealist philosophies of the 19th century. His work has also been a starting point for many 20th century philosophers.

The two interconnected foundations of what Kant called his "critical philosophy" of the "Copernican revolution" which he claimed to have wrought in philosophy were his epistemology (or theory of knowledge) of Transcendental Idealism and his moral philosophy of the autonomy of reason. These placed the active, rational human subject at the center of the cognitive and moral worlds. With regard to knowledge, Kant argued that the rational order of the world as known by science could never be accounted for merely by the fortuitous accumulation of sense perceptions. It was instead the product of the rule-based activity of "synthesis". This consisted of conceptual unification and integration carried out by the mind through concepts or the "categories of the understanding" operating on perceptions within space and time, which are not concepts, but forms of sensibility that are necessary conditions for any possible experience.

Customer Reviews