B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Imagine - The Ultimate Mixes [Deluxe White 2 LP]

Imagine - The Ultimate Mixes [Deluxe White 2 LP]

by John Lennon John Lennon

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Special Edition / Colored Vinyl)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 30


One of John Lennon's finest post-Beatles recordings, IMAGINE displays the varied voices that made the former mop-top one of pop's most profoundly engaging and perplexing figures -- an idealist one minute, a cynic the next. Although Lennon's gorgeous title track has become a deserving anthem for peace, the caustic "How Do You Sleep?" -- directed at Paul McCartney -- would hardly seem like a beatnik's olive branch. These ten songs also see Lennon searching for life's most elemental building blocks: truth and love. On "Crippled Inside" and "Gimme Some Truth," Lennon seems ready to throw off the shackles of modern life -- "I've had enough of watching scenes of schizophrendic-ego-centric-paranoiac-prima-donnas," he asserts on the latter -- while "Oh My Love" and "Oh Yoko!" celebrate both Lennon's profound love for his wife and his belief in the power of love to transform life. Lennon presents himself as a man searching, baring himself and his own frailties (check "Jealous Guy" or "How?"), and one happily still in possession of his natural grace with melody. True to the songs, the arrangements are simple, with John at the piano or behind the guitar. With a light hand, producer Phil Spector adorns the tunes with impressionistic string arrangements but leaves John's deeply sincere voice at the forefront of the mix. An imaginative, fiercely honest album, IMAGINE captures a man wrestling with his powers and preserves the fruits of his labors. For this 2000 reissue, the tracks have all been digitally remixed and remastered at Abbey Road Studios under the supervision of Yoko Ono. The enhanced CD booklet, expanded from the original eight pages to 16, includes song lyrics and credits, as well as many rare photos, some taken from the simultaneously released documentary "Gimme Some Truth: The Making of Imagine."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 12/10/2021
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602438391776
catalogNumber: 383917
Rank: 6968


Disc 1

  1. Imagine
  2. Crippled Inside
  3. Jealous Guy
  4. It's So Hard
  5. I Don’t Wanna Be A Soldier Mama I Don’t Wanna Die
  6. Gimme Some Truth
  7. Oh My Love
  8. How Do You Sleep?
  9. How?
  10. Oh Yoko!

Disc 2

  1. Imagine
  2. Imagine
  3. Crippled Inside
  4. Crippled Inside
  5. Jealous Guy
  6. It's So Hard
  7. I Don’t Wanna Be A Soldier Mama I Don’t Wanna Die
  8. Gimme Some Truth
  9. Oh My Love
  10. How Do You Sleep?
  11. How?
  12. Oh Yoko!

Album Credits

Customer Reviews