Imaginary Enemy [Deluxe Version]

Imaginary Enemy [Deluxe Version]

by The UsedThe Used

CD(Special Edition)

$15.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 26


The sixth long-player from the shape-shifting, stalwart, Utah-bred punk rockers opens with a song called "Revolution" that houses the lyric "From now on I pledge allegiance to a world that's so much different/where no one suffers/everyone is free." It's an uplifting image, and one that Bert McCracken and company haven't always evoked, but more than a decade into their career, the Used have carved out their own unique niche in the crowded post-hardcore/screamo punk scene, and have earned the right to reflect on what they've been raging against since their 2002 debut. Working again with longtime producer John Feldman, Imaginary Enemy burns bright and fast, tearing through familiar (as in largely generic), classic anti-establishment punk themes with the subtlety of a mace to the face, but there's a wild, anything-goes spirit (and a genuine yearning for change) that guides much of the material, suggesting that the studio may have housed a sizeable window to accommodate the tossing out of the rule book. For every "Cry," "Generation Throwaway," and "El-Oh-Vee-Ee," all three of which are fist-pumping, largely traditional-sounding 21st century punk rallying cries that effectively utilize the Used instant-chorus generator, there's an "Evolution" or a "Song to Stifle Imperial Progression (A Work in Progress)," the former a dreamy, radio-ready power ballad and the latter a freak show mash-up of feral, Sunset Strip metal and Big Audio Dynamite-induced dance beats, and it's these aberrations that make Imaginary Enemy such a surprisingly fun ride, even as it's beating you over the head with cliches. [A Deluxe Edition added a bonus track, "Money Monster."]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/01/2014
Label: The Used
UPC: 0790692079728
catalogNumber: 797
Rank: 78778


  1. Revolution
  2. Cry
  3. El-Oh-Vee-Ee
  4. A Song to Stifle Imperial Progression (A Work in Progress)
  5. Generation Throwaway
  6. Make Believe
  7. Evolution
  8. Imaginary Enemy
  9. Kenna Song
  10. Force Without Violence
  11. Overdose/Red Heart
  12. Money Monster

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Used   Primary Artist
Bert McCracken   Vocals,Group Member
Quinn Allman   Guitar,Group Member
Dan Whitesides   Drums,Group Member
Jeph Howard   Bass,Group Member

Technical Credits

John Feldmann   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Used   Composer
Chris Qualls   Engineer
James Clarke   Engineer
Kane Hibberd   Back Cover Photo
Brian Manley   Artwork
Kenny Carkeet   Programming,Engineer
Ago "Sethh" Teppand   Programming,Engineer
Adam Neilson   Intern
Allie Snow   Intern
Zakk Cervini   Programming,Engineer

Customer Reviews