by NightwishNightwish


$23.23 $23.99 Save 3% Current price is $23.23, Original price is $23.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Never one to do things by halves, Finnish symphonic rock purveyors Nightwish team up with a 53-piece orchestra for their seventh studio album, Imaginaerum, a concept album based on a dying man's recollection of his youth which also doubles as the soundtrack to their forthcoming Stobe Harju-directed film of the same name. Bassist Marco Hietala claimed that it's inspired by the works of Tim Burton, Neil Gaiman, and Salvador Dali, which suggests a score full of gothic fantasy-style arrangements, but although there are many hallmarks of a big screen mythical epic (the Palladio-esque breakdown on the lead single "Storytime," the Omen-esque choral backing vocals and ominous piano chords on the schizophrenic "Scaretale," and the stirring war march instrumental "Arabesque"), the band have thankfully avoided simply following the Danny Elfman rulebook. Opener "Taikatalvi" is a haunting, Middle Eastern-tinged folk number underpinned by a twinkling, music box backing and a rare Finnish-language melody, the frenetic Riverdance-goes-metal of "I Want My Tears Back," and the medieval campfire balladry of "Turn Loose the Mermaids" showcase their passion for traditional Celtic music, while the biggest twist appears courtesy of "Slow, Love, Slow," an unexpected but convincing foray into 1930s jazz-lounge territory, which proves Anette Olzon is as adept a torch singer as she is rock goddess. The doom-laden bombastics of "Rest Calm" and "Last Ride of the Day" are basically Nightwish on autopilot, while the meandering "Song of Myself" overstays its welcome long before the advent of a closing six-minute recital of Tuomas Holopainen's poem of the same name (influenced by the Walt Whitman poem). But if its accompanying full-length feature is even half as ambitious as its soundtrack, fantasy fans are in for quite a spectacle.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/04/2013
Label: Nuclear Blast Int'l
UPC: 0727361278922
catalogNumber: 6127892
Rank: 84144

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nightwish   Primary Artist
Derek Watkins   Trumpet
Tony Lewis   Celli
Guy Barker   Trumpet,Soloist
Mark Berrow   Violin
Catherine Bott   Vocals
Andrew Busher   Vocals
Yona Dunsford   Vocals
Richard Edwards   Tenor Trombone
Andy Findon   Flute
Claire Henry   Vocals
Garfield Jackson   Viola
Skaila Kanga   Harp
Gary Kettel   Percussion
Chris Laurence   Bass
Martin Loveday   Celli
Rita Manning   Violin
Kate Musker   Viola
Anthony Pleeth   Celli
Frank Ricotti   Percussion
Lynda Richardson   Choir Master
Sonia Slany   Violin
Jussi Tegelman   Music Box
David Theodore   Oboe,Cor anglais
David Porter Thomas   Vocals
Dermot Crehan   Violin
Bill Hawkes   Viola
Peter Lale   Viola
Mary Carewe   Vocals
Troy Donockley   Bouzouki,Chant,Bodhran,uillean pipes,Low Whistle
Patrick Kiernan   Violin
Boguslaw Kostecki   Violin
Frank Schaefer   Celli
Bruce White   Viola
Dirk Campbell   Sorna
David Fuest   Clarinet,Bass Clarinet
David Daniels [cello]   Celli
Stephen Henderson   Percussion,Ethnic Percussion
Andrew Crowley   Trumpet
Paul Clarvis   Ethnic Percussion
Julian Leaper   Violin
Lawrence Wallington   Vocals
Michael Dore   Vocals
Richard Watkins   French Horn
Everton Nelson   Violin
Metro Voices   Vocals
James Shearman   Conductor
Nigel Black   French Horn
Rachel Bolt   Viola
Anna Noakes   Flute
Dai Emanuel   Violin
Emlyn Singleton   Violin
David Pyatt   French Horn
Paddy Lannigan   Bass
Andy Wood   Tenor Trombone
Tuomas Holopainen   Piano,Keyboards
Emppu Vuorinen   Guitar
Jukka Nevalainen   Percussion,Drums
Marco Hietala   Bass,Vocals
Eleanor Grant   Musician
Tom Pearce   Vocals
David Stewart   Bass Trombone
Owen Slade   Tuba
Joanna Forbes   Vocals
Neil Bellingham   Vocals
Ann DeRenais   Vocals
Jacqueline Barron   Vocals
Perry Montague-Mason   Violin
Amber Moore   Musician
Rosemary Forbes-Butler   Vocals
Thomas Bowes   Leader
Grace Davidson   Vocals
Kate Moore   Trumpet
Anette Olzon   Vocals
Alice Fearn   Vocals
Pekka Kuusisto   Violin,Soloist
Morag MacKay   Vocals
Josephine Knight   Celli
Vanessa Heine   Vocals
Emma Brain-Gabbott   Vocals
Stephen Mair   Bass
Leon Enrique Bosch   Bass
Julie Andrews   Bassoon
Abbie Osmon   Vocals
Tom Pigott-Smith   Violin
Christopher Tombling   Violin
David Woodcock   Violin
Gerard O'Beirne   Vocals
Peter Snipp   Vocals
Alexandra Gibson   Vocals
Michael Thompson   French Horn
Jenny O'Grady   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Jonathan Rees   Violin
Nicki Kennedy   Vocals
Nicholas Bucknall   Clarinet
Kai Hahto   Percussion
Thomas Bullard   Vocals
Eliza Marshall   Flute
Oliver Langford   Violin
Ben Fleetwood Smyth   Vocals
Thomas Spencer-Wortley   Vocals
Eoghan McCarthy   Musician
Ashby Mayes   Musician
Anna Gunstone   Musician
Celine Marcantonis   Musician
David Valsamidis   Musician
Elizabeth Wiesberg   Vocals
Katialin Dang   Musician
Mair Dew   Musician
Nicholas Sabisky   Musician
Nicholas Marcantosis   Musician
Rosie Alderton   Musician
Looking Glass Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Soophia Foroughi   Vocals
Shifra Osorio Whewell   Musician
Elias Christou-Hill   Musician
Dilys McCaffrey   Musician
Athena Koutsovasilis   Musician
Anais Engelmann   Musician
Paul Greir   Vocals
Sam Barnett   Musician
Vinay Ostrolenk   Musician
Lindsay Ashworth   Vocals
Jacob Ramsey   Musician
Maciej Rakoswki   Violin
John Barcley   Trumpet
Steve Morris   Violin

Technical Credits

Jussi Tegelman   Soundscape
Pip Williams   Director,Orchestration,Orchestral Arrangements,Choir Arrangement,Creation
Mikko Karmila   Engineer
Tuomas Holopainen   Composer,Lyricist,Producer
Emppu Vuorinen   Arranger,Guitar Engineer,Bass Engineer
Marco Hietala   Composer,Guitar Engineer,Bass Engineer
Janne Pitkänen   Artwork,Layout
Tero Kinnunen   Engineer
Gina Pitkänen   Artwork,Layout
Steve Price   Engineer
Holopainen   Arranger
Nevalainen   Arranger

Customer Reviews