by McCoy TynerMcCoy Tyner


$11.67 $11.99 Save 3% Current price is $11.67, Original price is $11.99. You Save 3%.


In his mid-'60s at the time of this pair of studio sessions, McCoy Tyner is hardly the prototype of a musician re-creating past hits, instead he signals that he still has a few surprises up his sleeve. One thing apparent right away in his opener, "Illuminations," is that he is willing to stay in the background a good deal of the time, focusing the spotlight on bandmembers Terence Blanchard, Gary Bartz, Christian McBride, and Lewis Nash. The leader's driving Latin-flavored "Angelina" features his intricate solo as its centerpiece, though his instrument still seems mixed into the background. Perhaps the greatest surprise among his own works is the playful strutting "New Orleans Stomp," in which his down-home piano will lift a few eyebrows, accompanied by Blanchard's almost vocal-like trumpet. "The Chase" is a brief but rapid-fire workout with the rhythm section that will sound more familiar to longtime fans of Tyner. Bartz penned the strident post-bop vehicle "Soulstice," while Blanchard contributed the moody "Blessings," which blends a dark bass vamp with an uplifting Latin-flavored unison line by the two horns. McBride's "West Philly Tone Poem" features his warm arco bass in an inspired duet with the leader. The trio of standards heard here include "Alone Together" featuring Blanchard's sassy trumpet, while the relaxed but upbeat "If I Should Lose You" finds Bartz switching to soprano sax. This is yet another essential release by the always enjoyable McCoy Tyner.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/2004
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408359927
catalogNumber: 83599

Album Credits

Performance Credits

McCoy Tyner   Primary Artist,Piano
Gary Bartz   Saxophone
Lewis Nash   Drums
Terence Blanchard   Trumpet
Christian McBride   Bass

Technical Credits

Gary Bartz   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
McCoy Tyner   Composer
Terence Blanchard   Composer
Elaine Martone   Producer,Audio Production
Christian McBride   Composer
Ralph Rainger   Composer
Jack Renner   Engineer
Leo Robin   Composer
Arthur Schwartz   Composer
Robert Woods   Executive Producer
Anilda Carrasquillo   Art Direction
Clifford Alejandro   Illustrations

Customer Reviews