Igor Stravinsky: A Brief Guide to His Life and Work

Igor Stravinsky: A Brief Guide to His Life and Work

by David Ewen


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5


On May 29, 1913, a volcanic eruption rocked musical Paris. The eruption was caused by the first performance of Igor Strvinsky's "The Rite of Spring," whose score-drenched with irregular rhythms and frequent dissonances-fearlessly pronounced a new vocabulary, one that influenced both contemporaneous and future composers. Originally published in 1937 in the author's larger "Twentieth Century Composers," this paperback edition explores Stravinsky's career and critiques such landmark compositions as "The Firebird," "Petrouchka," "The Rite of Spring," "L'Histoire du soldat," "Pulcinella," "Les Noces" and "Symphony of Psalms."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781544915364
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 03/25/2017
Pages: 38
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.08(d)

About the Author

Austrian-born American writer David Ewen (1907-1985) was the author of dozens of books about music, including "Composers of Today," "Composers of Yesterday" and "The Encyclopedia of Musical Masterpieces."

Customer Reviews