by The S.O.S. Band The S.O.S. Band




Part of the Icon series' spotlight on Clarence Avant's Tabu imprint, which also involved titles covering the label's Cherrelle and Alexander O'Neal, this set effectively replaces 2004's Greatest Hits. "S.O.S.," "It's a Long Way to the Top," "Have It Your Way," "Love Won't Wait for Love," and "No Lies" aren't contained here, but that allows more room for additional extended mixes, as well as "Even When You Sleep" and "No One's Gonna Love You," two grade-A ballads that were missed on that earlier comp. The tinny Reggie Thompson/Scott Folks remix of "Just Be Good to Me" is here instead of the preferred album or eight-minute version, but even so, the disc is essential for any '80s R&B fan -- disciples of Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis' productions especially -- who doesn't have all the original vinyl releases.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/04/2011
Label: Tabu Records
UPC: 0602527569802
catalogNumber: 001511202


  1. Take Your Time (Do it Right)
  2. Just Be Good to Me
  3. Tell Me if You Still Care
  4. No One's Gonna Love You
  5. The Finest
  6. High Hopes
  7. Just the Way You Like It
  8. Weekend Girl
  9. Groovin' (That's What We're Doin')
  10. Even When You Sleep
  11. Borrowed Love
  12. Sands of Time

Album Credits

Performance Credits

S.O.S. Band   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Leon Sylvers   Executive Producer
Jimmy Jam   Producer
Terry Lewis   Composer,Producer
Sigidi   Composer,Producer
Ricky Sylvers   Producer
Harry Weinger   Compilation Supervisor
Gene Dozier   Composer,Producer
James Harris   Composer
Scott Folks   Remixing
Clarence Avant   Executive Producer,Compilation Supervisor
Harold Clayton   Composer
Reggie Thompson   Remixing
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Jo Almeida   Photo Coordination
Charmaine Sylvers   Composer

Customer Reviews