Icon 2

Icon 2

by Public EnemyPublic Enemy


$14.48 $15.99 Save 9% Current price is $14.48, Original price is $15.99. You Save 9%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


There haven't been many Public Enemy compilations released over the years, and none of them have been very good -- not the 1992 oddities Greatest Misses or the even stranger 2006 Planet Earth, where classic PE seemed to be swapped for revisions. That left only 2001's 20th Century Masters as a disc that served up the hits, but 2014's Icon 2 -- also an entry in an ongoing series by Universal -- easily trumps that by offering 22 classic Def Jam tracks over the course of two discs. The big songs are here -- "You're Gonna Get Yours," "Bring the Noise," "Rebel Without a Pause," "Don't Believe the Hype," "Night of the Living Baseheads," "Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos," "911 Is a Joke," "Welcome to the Terrordome," "Fight the Power," "Shut Em Down" -- and it wraps up with the title track from "He Got Game," a song that functions as a coda to the golden age that is effectively showcased on this rather terrific collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/25/2014
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0602537708710
catalogNumber: 2002502
Rank: 80359

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Public Enemy   Primary Artist
Anthrax   Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Joey Belladonna   Composer
Frank Bello   Composer
Charlie Benante   Composer
Bomb Squad   Producer
Cerwin Depper   Composer,Producer
Gary G-Wiz   Composer,Producer
Scott Ian   Composer
Stuart Robertz   Composer,Producer
Carl Ryder   Producer
Neftali Santiago   Composer
Keith Shocklee   Composer,Producer
Hank Shocklee   Composer,Producer
Dan Spitz   Composer
Terminator   Producer
Eric Sadler   Composer,Producer
Carlton Ridenhour   Composer
Norman Lee Rogers   Composer
Bill Stephney   Producer
Andrew Catlin   Cover Photo
William Drayton   Composer
Studdah Man   Composer
Antonio Hardy   Composer
O'Shea Jackson   Composer
Period   Producer
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Susan Lavoie   Art Direction
Imperial Grand Ministers Of Funk   Producer
J.B.L.   Producer
Gary Rinaldo   Composer
Glen La Ferman   Back Cover Photo
JBL   Composer

Customer Reviews