I Wanna Go Back to Detroit City

I Wanna Go Back to Detroit City

by Andre WilliamsAndre Williams


$12.47 $12.99 Save 4% Current price is $12.47, Original price is $12.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


While the conventional wisdom in Michigan has it that the City of Detroit is slowly but surely making a comeback, Andre Williams isn't quite having that. Heading back to his old home town, Williams discovered the former home of Fortune Records, the Motor City label where he cut his first hits, was now an overgrown empty lot. Struck by this, Williams began writing lyrics about what Detroit was, is, and could be, and these tunes dominate 2016's I Wanna Go Back to Detroit City. The almost-80-year-old R&B wildman actually sings more about life on the mean streets than about sex this time out, limiting most of his obsessions about the opposite sex to the tune "Mississippi Sue" (who turns out to have passed on, making the finished product a bit less than lascivious). And if Williams imagines a future Detroit where there's a party on every corner in "Detroit (So Glad I Stayed)," married to a groove that's half-Funkadelic and half-Stooges, the grit of "Times" shows his optimism goes only so far. I Wanna Go Back to Detroit City is an unusually thoughtful album from the typically hard-partying Mr. Rhythm, and the musicians working behind him keep the music lean, sharp, and on point, especially Motown guitar legend Dennis Coffey and Outrageous Cherry founder Matthew Smith. (The latter produced the sessions with Williams.) Whether he's lamenting the uphill climb of life in his hometown, letting someone know why they're no longer friends, or telling the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame just what they can do, I Wanna Go Back to Detroit City makes it clear Andre Williams still has a lot on his mind, and time hasn't dulled his impact one bit.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/03/2016
Label: Bloodshot Records
UPC: 0744302023427
catalogNumber: 234
Rank: 74705

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Andre Williams   Primary Artist,Tambourine,Vocals
Dennis Coffey   Acoustic Guitar
Matthew Smith   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals,Vibes,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Troy Gregory   Bass
Peter Andrus   Guitar
Dan Kroha   Guitar
Greasy Carlisi   Bass
Mike Alonso   Drums
Dave Shettler   Synthesizer,Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Colleen Burke   Background Vocals
Ben Van Camp   Drums
Eric Villa   Bass
Jim White   Drums
Steve King   Bass
Maria Nuccilli   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Andre Williams   Composer,Producer
Dennis Coffey   Composer
Matthew Smith   Composer,Producer
Dan Kroha   Composer
Tony Hamera   Engineer
Dave Shettler   Composer
Jason Fisher   Engineer
Adam Cox   Engineer
Eric Villa   Composer
Steve King   Composer

Customer Reviews