I Got Dem Ol' Kozmic Blues Again Mama! [Bonus Tracks]

I Got Dem Ol' Kozmic Blues Again Mama! [Bonus Tracks]

by Janis JoplinJanis Joplin


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Janis Joplin's solo debut was a letdown at the time of release, suffering in comparison with Big Brother's Cheap Thrills from the previous year, and shifting her style toward soul-rock in a way that disappointed some fans. Removed from that context, it sounds better today, though it's still flawed. Fronting the short-lived Kozmic Blues Band, the arrangements are horn heavy and the material soulful and bluesy. The band sounds a little stiff, though, and although Joplin's singing is good, she would sound more electrifying on various live versions of some of the songs that have come out over the years. The shortage of quality original compositions -- indeed, there are only eight tracks total on the album -- didn't help either, and the cover selections were erratic, particularly the Bee Gees' "To Love Somebody." On the other hand, "Try" is one of her best soul outings, and the reading of Rodgers & Hart's "Little Girl Blue" is inspired. The 1999 CD reissue adds three bonus tracks: a cover of Bob Dylan's "Dear Landlord" from the Kozmic Blues sessions that was first heard on the Janis box set, and previously unreleased versions of "Summertime" and "Piece of My Heart" from the Woodstock Festival. "Summertime" is okay, but this "Piece of My Heart" really pales next to the Big Brother interpretation.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2008
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886972384122
catalogNumber: 723841
Rank: 23812


  1. Try (Just a Little Bit Harder)
  2. Maybe
  3. One Good Man
  4. As Good as You've Been to This World
  5. To Love Somebody
  6. Kozmic Blues
  7. Little Girl Blue
  8. Work Me, Lord
  9. Dear Landlord
  10. Summertime
  11. Piece of My Heart

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Janis Joplin   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Luis Gasca   Trumpet
Sam Andrew   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Maury Baker   Drums
Brad Campbell   Bass,Brass
Lonnie Castille   Drums
Terry Clements   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Cornelius "Snookey" Flowers   Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Background Vocals
Richard Kermode   Organ,Keyboards
Gabriel Mekler   Organ,Keyboards

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Nick Gravenites   Composer
Chip Taylor   Composer
Richard Barrett   Composer
Bert Berns   Composer
Terry Clements   Contributor
Michael Friedman   Back Cover
Maurice Gibb   Composer
Jerry Hochman   Engineer
Alex Kazanegras   Engineer
Edwin H. Kramer   Engineer
Gabriel Mekler   Arranger,Producer,Original Album Producer
Sy Mitchell   Engineer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Bruce Steinberg   Cover Photo
George Goldner   Composer
Bert Russell   Composer
Bob Irwin   Producer,Reissue Producer
David Gahr   Tray Photo
Fred Lombardi   Back Cover
Nicholas Bennett   Packaging Manager
John Byrne Cooke   Liner Notes
Richard DiLello   Back Cover
Traditional   Composer
A. Barrett   Composer
Richie Barrett   Composer
Lee Osborne   Engineer
T. B. Harms   Composer

Customer Reviews