I Am Sad and Weary: Jimmy Rodgers Revisited

I Am Sad and Weary: Jimmy Rodgers Revisited


$20.94 $20.99 Save 0% Current price is $20.94, Original price is $20.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This 27-cut selection, compiled from Bear Family's prestigious vaults and licensing abilities, is the third part of the Bear Family Jimmie Rodgers project. The first was a huge box set of all of Rodgers' known recordings. The second was a collection of Rodgers songs by his peers and from a memorial concert held in 1957. This installment is an odd one. It features more songs from Rodgers' contemporaries, songs Rodgers himself covered, and songs about Rodgers. There is another twist given the title, and that is that these are, by and large, the down-in-the-mouth sad songs by Rodgers, or tales of tragedies that affected him enough to want to record songs about them. Some of the tracks are from the ages, such as Ernest Tubb's 1945 virtually note-for-note remake of "Frankie and Johnny" (which Rodgers remade almost note for note from Frank Crumit's version). But there is also Jimmie Skinner's "Jimmie Yodel Blues" from 1950, Molly O'Day's "(Fifteen) Years Ago" from 1949, and Bill Monroe's 1989 cover of "My Carolina Sunshine Girl." And many more. Some of the other standouts include Merle Haggard's "Peach Pickin' Time in Georgia," Dolly Parton's "Muleskinner Blues," Jerry Lee Lewis' "Mother, the Queen of My Heart," Bob Wills' "Mississippi River Blues," Tompall Glaser's "My Mother Was a Lady" (1977), Jim Reeves' "Waitin' for a Train" (1957), Webb Pierce's now standard "In the Jailhouse Now" (1955), Lefty Frizzell's stunningly beautiful read of "Never No Mo' Blues" (1953), and the stunning "Travelin' Blues" by Elton Britt (1957). Grandpa Jones, Gary Williams, Johnny Duncan, Wanda Jackson, Bob King, and Hank Snow (of course) make appearances. This collection is strong from front to back with nary a sound out of place, filled with inspiration, melancholy, and true grit.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/22/2003
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127166739
catalogNumber: 16673
Rank: 97544

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bill Monroe   Mandolin,Vocals
Rufus Thibodeaux   Fiddle
Chet Atkins   Electric Guitar
Floyd Cramer   Piano
Johnny Duncan   Guitar,Vocals
Lefty Frizzell   Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Gimble   Fiddle
Merle Haggard   Vocals
Dolly Parton   Vocals
Jim Reeves   Guitar,Leader,Vocals
Hank Snow   Guitar,Leader,Vocals
Wanda Jackson   Vocals
Jerry Lee Lewis   Piano,Leader,Vocals
Sandy Brown   Clarinet
Mel Brown   Electric Guitar
Bill Ramsey   Vocals
James Burton   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Leader
Pete Drake   Steel Guitar
Lloyd Green   Steel Guitar
Rusty York   Steel Guitar
Leon Rausch   Electric Guitar
Tompall Glaser   Guitar,Leader,Vocals
Jimmy Day   Steel Guitar
Grady Martin   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Ernest Tubb   Guitar,Vocals
Elton Britt   Vocals
Jimmie Skinner   Guitar,Vocals
Molly O'Day   Banjo,Guitar,Vocals
Charles Trénet   Leader,Electric Banjo
Mother Maybelle Carter   Autoharp,Choir, Chorus
Ramona Jones   Choir, Chorus
Ben Keith   Steel Guitar
Earl Ball   Piano
Harold Bradley   Electric Guitar
Owen Bradley   Piano,Drums
Billy Byrd   Electric Guitar
Jerry Carrigan   Drums
Lynn Davis   Guitar,Vocals
Jack Drake   Bass
Tommy Duncan   Leader,Vocals
Bobby Dyson   Bass
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Dolores Edgin   Vocals
Jack Fallon   Bass
Billy Graham   Bass
Charles Randolph Grean   Bass
Dickie Harris   Steel Guitar
Lennie Hastings   Drums
John Hill   Rhythm Guitar
Jim Isbell   Drums
Bob King   Guitar,Vocals
Dave Kirby   Electric Guitar
Millie Kirkham   Choir, Chorus
Jack Lloyd   Clarinet
Kenneth Lovelace   Fiddle
Ralph Mooney   Steel Guitar
Ernest Ernie Newton   Bass,String Bass
Roy Nichols   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Louis Dean Nunley   Choir, Chorus
Bonnie Owens   Vocal Harmony
June Page   Vocals
Webb Pierce   Vocals
Tommy Perkins   Drums
Charles Polk   Drums
Wayne Raney   Harmonica
Ted Reynolds   Bass
Hargus "Pig" Robbins   Piano
Dale Sellers   Guitar
Jerry Stembridge   Guitar
Rocky Stone   Fiddle
Lewis Talley   Guitar
Norris Wilson   Piano
Denny Wright   Piano
Joe Hayes   Fiddle
Dorothy Ann Dillard   Choir, Chorus
Joe Holley   Fiddle
Herman Wade   Guitar
Luke Wills   Electric Bass
Farris Coursey   Drums
Leon Chase Copeland   Bass
Bob Moore   Bass
Jack Shook   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Henry Newton "Tommy" Vaden   Fiddle
Jerry Ward   Bass
Helen Carter   Guitar,Choir, Chorus
Gene Crownover   Steel Guitar
Frank McWhorter   Fiddle
Wade Peeler   Drums
James "Jimmie" Selph   Steel Guitar
Bill Strom   Organ
Lum York   Bass
Jack Youngblood   Fiddle
George Clayborn   Fiddle
Gene "Tag" Lambert   Electric Guitar
Tex Morton   Guitar,Vocals
Glenn Rhees   Saxophone
Doyle Wilburn   Electric Guitar,Vocal Harmony
Teddy Wilburn   Acoustic Guitar,Vocal Harmony
Joseph Hale III Talbot   Steel Guitar
Jerry Glenn Kennedy   Guitar
William Guilford Wright   Choir, Chorus
Jimmie Rodgers Snow   Vocals
Mack Magaha   Fiddle
George W. McCormick   Rhythm Guitar
Johnny Sapp   Fiddle
Jimmie Short   Rhythm Guitar
Sonny Burnette   Steel Guitar
Allen Dale Potter   Fiddle
George French   Piano
Ray "Kemo" Head   Steel Guitar
Danny Levan   Fiddle
George Edward "Leo" Jackson   Electric Guitar
Eric Werner   Performing Ensemble
Jerry Byrd & the String Dusters   Bass
Peter Alexander   Vocals
John "Woody" Applewhite   Fiddle
Cecil "Skeets" Williamson   Fiddle
Teddy K. Wilds   Rhythm Guitar
Willam A. Tonnesen   Steel Guitar
Edward Austin Strode   Piano
Virgil Frederick Stone   Bass
James "Hal" Smith   Fiddle
Melvin Leon Short   Electric Guitar
Earl E. Finley   Electric Guitar
Norman D. Hamlett   Steel Guitar
Ernie Harvey   Steel Guitar
Kenneth Charles Hill   Bass
Alfred F. Newell   Guitar
Joseph Donald Mutto   Drums
Lucky Moore   Guitar
Lou Millet   Guitar
James "Slim" Martin   Fiddle,Harmonica
Ray "Curly" Lunsford   Mandolin
Jack Kay   Fiddle
Tex Wilburn   Guitar
Mike Lane   Rhythm Guitar

Technical Credits

Jimmie Rodgers   Composer
Ernest Tubb   Composer
Elton Britt   Composer
Jimmie Skinner   Composer
Shelly Lee Alley   Composer
Ellsworth T. Cozzens   Composer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes
Joe Kaipo   Composer
Clayton McMichen   Composer
B. Miller   Composer
Don Michael Young   Contributor
Jesse Kaye   Producer
Roy Horton   Composer
Vaughn Horton   Composer
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Discographical Information
Holger Von Bargen   Art Direction
Elsie McWilliams   Composer
Edward B. Marks   Composer
Barry Richards   Composer
Dwight Butcher   Composer
George Vaughn   Composer
Lulubelle White   Composer
Wolfgang Taubenauer   Artwork
Traditional   Composer
Slim Bryant   Composer
Bob Miller   Composer
Kurt Feltz   Composer
Jack Neville   Composer
Lou Herscher   Composer

Customer Reviews