Howard's End

Howard's End

by E. M. Forster

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


"Only connect..."

Considered by many to be E. M. Forster's greatest novel, 'Howards End,' is a beautifully woven tale of two very different families brought together by an unusual event. The Schlegels are intellectuals, devotees of art and literature. The Wilcoxes are practical and materialistic, leading lives of "telegrams and anger." When the elder Mrs. Wilcox dies and her family discovers she has left their country home--Howards End--to one of the Schlegel sisters, a crisis between the two families is precipitated that takes years to resolve. Symbolically, the house brings together three important elements in English society: money and power in the Wilcoxes, culture in the Schlegels and the lower classes as represented by the character of Leonard Bast.

Written in 1910, 'Howards End,' is a trenchant exploration of the social, economic, and intellectual forces at work in England in the years preceding World War I, a time when vast social changes were occurring. In the Schlegels and the Wilcoxes, Forster perfectly embodies the competing idealism and materialism of the upper classes, while the conflict over the ownership of 'Howards End' represents the struggle for possession of the country's future. As critic Lionel Trilling once noted, the novel asks, "Who shall inherit England?"

Forster refuses to take sides in this conflict. Instead he poses one of the book's central questions: In a changing modern society, what should be the relation between the inner and outer life, between the world of the intellect and the world of business? Can they ever, as Forster urges, "only connect"?

This enhanced edition of Forster's classic novel has been fully annotated optimized for the NOOK. It includes an image gallery, author biography and links to free unabridged audio recordings of 'Howards End.'

*Text optimized for NOOK.
*Image gallery.
*Includes essay "Who was E. M. Forster?"
*Links to free complete audio recordings of 'Howards End.'
*Individual Table of Contents.
*Perfect formatting in rich texts.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149390793
Publisher: Enhanced E-Books
Publication date: 03/03/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 16,439
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Born in London in 1879, E. M. Forster is the author of six novels: Where Angels Fear to Tread, The Longest Journey, A Room with a View, Howard’s End, A Passage to India, and Maurice, the last published posthumously. He also wrote a number short stories, in addition to criticism and essays. His books have been adapted into several popular movies. He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 13 separate years. He died in 1970.

Date of Birth:

January 1, 1879

Date of Death:

June 7, 1970

Place of Birth:


Place of Death:

Coventry, England


B. A. in classics, King's College, Cambridge, 1900; B. A. in history, 1901; M.A., 1910

Customer Reviews