How We Disappeared

How We Disappeared

by Jing-Jing Lee

Paperback(Reissue)

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

LONGLISTED FOR THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 WOMEN’S PRIZE

A
LIBRARY JOURNAL EMERGING STARS PICK

A mesmerizing novel of World War II Singapore, “a story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love” (
New York Times)—for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.

In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a “comfort woman.” After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.

In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.

Weaving together two timelines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family’s experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781335013941
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication date: 04/21/2020
Edition description: Reissue
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 218,434
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Jing-Jing Lee was born and raised in Singapore. She earned a master's degree in creative writing from Oxford in 2011 and has since seen her poetry and short stories published in various journals and anthologies. How We Disappeared is her first novel. She currently lives in Amsterdam.

Customer Reviews