How Sweet It Is

How Sweet It Is

by Joan OsborneJoan Osborne


$10.14 $10.99 Save 8% Current price is $10.14, Original price is $10.99. You Save 8%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Covers albums are nothing new, but as is her wont, Joan Osborne takes the road less traveled on How Sweet It Is, her homage to the sensual, often politically charged soul music of the late '60s and early '70s. Osborne says that she first had the idea of delving into the sound early in 2001, but her focus shifted following the September 11th attacks: In their aftermath, the New York resident viewed the project through a different lens, emphasizing songs of brotherhood, like her achingly beautiful take on Timmy Thomas's "Why Can't We Live Together," and social protest, as on a reworking of Edwin Starr's "War" that casts the tune as a mournful blues rather than a fiery stomp. Several of the songs here -- the Marvin Gaye classic that gives the set its title, for one -- are straightforward love songs, but more often that love is expressed in the abstract. Stevie Wonder's "Love's in Need of Love Today" ponders an environment sorely lacking in that emotion; Jimi Hendrix's "Axis: Bold as Love" coats the heartstrings in surreal shades of psychedelia. Credit Osborne's genuine and generous delivery of these and other classics with making How Sweet It Is one of the few "tribute" albums that won't leave listeners pining for the originals before it reaches its final groove.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/17/2002
Label: Compendia
UPC: 0015095936523
catalogNumber: 9365
Rank: 73823


  1. I'll Be Around
  2. Think
  3. How Sweet It Is
  4. Smiling Faces Sometimes
  5. Love's in Need of Love Today
  6. These Arms of Mine
  7. Only You Know and I Know
  8. War
  9. Why Can't We Live Together
  10. Axis: Bold as Love
  11. The Weight
  12. Everybody Is a Star

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joan Osborne   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Vaneese Thomas   Background Vocals
Tawatha Agee   Background Vocals
Leroy Clouden   Drums
Curtis King   Background Vocals
John Leventhal   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Electric Bass,Drums,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Paulette McWilliams   Background Vocals
Audrey Martells   Background Vocals
Meshell Ndegeocello   Bass
Brian Mitchell   Organ
Shawn Pelton   Percussion,Drums
Fonzi Thornton   Background Vocals
Danny Louis   Trumpet,Clavinet
Sophia Ramos   Background Vocals
RIck DePofi   Solo Instrumental,Percussion,Bongos,Drums,Horn,Keyboards,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
?uestlove   Percussion,Drums
Andrew Carillo   Acoustic Guitar
Conrad Korsch   Bass,Acoustic Bass

Technical Credits

Timmy Thomas   Composer
Rob Arthur   Bass Programming
Isaac Hayes   Contributor
John Leventhal   Producer,Engineer
Joan Osborne   Producer,Engineer
RIck DePofi   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews