The House on the Borderland

The House on the Borderland

by William Hope Hodgson

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


“A classic of the first water.” —H. P. Lovecraft

In rural Ireland, two travelers stumble upon the ruins of a lakeside home. Inside, they discover a diary detailing the terrible final days of a man known only as the Recluse. A scholar who bought the house for its isolation, the Recluse is plagued by strange sounds and terrible hallucinations soon after he moves in. He dreams of an eerie “Plain of Silence,” where a jade-green version of the house is surrounded by ominous mountains populated with mythical beasts and gargantuan monsters. Exploring a nearby ravine known locally as the Pit, the Recluse and his loyal dog, Pepper, are attacked by a creature that appears to be half human and half swine. A fantasy reunion with his long-lost lover proves that the house has powers beyond the Recluse’s comprehension. And just when he thinks that the horror is finally over, the real nightmare begins.

Dripping with tension and atmosphere, The House on the Borderland is a landmark of supernatural horror and one of the scariest stories ever told.
This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781453264928
Publisher: Open Road Media
Publication date: 07/01/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 138
Sales rank: 18,250
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

William Hope Hodgson (1877–1918) was an English author whose writing spanned genres from horror to fantasy to science fiction. His best-known works are The House on the Borderland and The Night Land, a futuristic novel depicting a grim vision of an earth without sun. 

Table of Contents

The Finding of the Manuscript
The Plain of Silence
The House in the Arena
The Earth
The Thing in the Pit
The Swine-Things
The Attack
After the Attack
In the Cellars
The Time of Waiting
The Searching of the Gardens
The Subterranean Pit
The Trap in the Great Cellar
The Sea of Sleep
The Noise in the Night
The Awakening
The Slowing Rotation
The Green Star
The End of the Solar System
The Celestial Globes
The Dark Sun
The Dark Nebula
The Footsteps in the Garden
The Thing from the Arena
The Luminous Speck

Customer Reviews