The House on the Borderland

The House on the Borderland


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A reclusive man, retreating to the Irish countryside with his sister, finds himself one day at the portal to another dimension. Years later, amid the crumbling ruins of his home, a pair of travelers find his diary and its horrifying details of the terrors that stalked his world — grotesque, swine-like monsters crawling from an abyss to swarm about the doors, fierce storms that threatened to unleash malevolent supernatural powers, and a harrowing vision of the death of the solar system."A classic of the first order," declared H. P. Lovecraft of this hugely influential novel. First published in 1908, it bridges the era between traditional ghost stories and modern fantasy. Modern readers will savor its compelling journey through space and time and its evocative blend of the best aspects of horror and science fiction.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780486468792
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication date: 08/08/2008
Series: Dover Mystery, Detective, & Other Fiction
Pages: 160
Sales rank: 428,913
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

William Hope Hodgson (1877–1918) was born in Essex but moved several times with his family, including a stint in County Galway in Ireland – a setting that would later inspire The House on the Borderland. Hodgson made several unsuccessful attempts to run away to sea, until his uncle secured him some work in the Merchant Marine. His association with the ocean would unfold later in his many sea stories. After some initial rejections of his writing work, Hodgson managed to become a full time writer of both novels and short stories, which form a fantastic legacy of adventure, mystery and horror fiction.

Table of Contents

The Finding of the Manuscript
The Plain of Silence
The House in the Arena
The Earth
The Thing in the Pit
The Swine-Things
The Attack
After the Attack
In the Cellars
The Time of Waiting
The Searching of the Gardens
The Subterranean Pit
The Trap in the Great Cellar
The Sea of Sleep
The Noise in the Night
The Awakening
The Slowing Rotation
The Green Star
The End of the Solar System
The Celestial Globes
The Dark Sun
The Dark Nebula
The Footsteps in the Garden
The Thing from the Arena
The Luminous Speck

Customer Reviews