House of Groove

House of Groove

by Euge GrooveEuge Groove


$19.34 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.34, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The smooth jazz genre in the 2000s and 2010s has had two very vocal apostles in Kirk Whalum and Jonathan Butler, who made gospel albums to complement their more mainstream output, and have spoken freely on-stage about their faith. One who has done this more quietly, but no less eloquently, is Euge Groove, whose muscular tenor sax-doubling and lilting soprano have helped him score numerous radio hits and develop a ready-to-party audience as he subtly infuses a little church in the mix. In many ways, House of Groove falls right in line with the versatile saxman's core array of sounds -- dreamy, lilting, and sexy on the expansive opening track "Knock! Knock! Who's There?" and going for that dark-chorded, midtempo, doubled-tenor sizzle on the title track. One of the coolest elements that sets this collection apart is the length of the tracks, which allow him to offer rich solos to his bandmates -- most notably, the fiery Neal Schon-like guitar solo by John "Jubu" Smith on the hypnotic ballad "Indian Summer," and the stellar soloing throughout by keyboardist Tracy Carter. But the spiritual/emotional core of the songs calls to mind the vibe of his earlier release, Sunday Morning. There's the infectious invitation to the "Fellowship Hall," the simmering gospel ballad "God Bless You" (with graceful vocals by Kate Miner Moebel), the buoyant "Faithful Central" (a church in the Los Angeles area of which Carter has been musical director), and the gentle gospel/whispery soul vocal ballad "It's Only Rain," a passionate plea about keeping the faith. Another R&B-driven delight is "Never Met a Woman (Like You)," featuring the lighthearted coolness of genre great Jeffrey Osborne. House of Groove keeps its promised rhythms flowing, but the spiritual heart takes Groove's game to some exciting new places.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2012
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351519726
catalogNumber: 5197
Rank: 23685

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Euge Groove   Primary Artist,Flute,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Hammond B3
Paul Brown   Guitar,Soloist
Lenny Castro   Conga
Cornelius Mims   Electric Bass
Dan Needham   Drums
Lee Thornberg   Trumpet
Tracy Carter   Piano,fender rhodes
Trevor Lawrence   Drums
John "Jubu" Smith   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Jeffrey Osborne   Composer
Euge Groove   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Albert Mata   Engineer
Chioma   Composer
Steven Eugene Grove   Composer,Liner Notes

Customer Reviews