Hope in Front of Me

Hope in Front of Me

by Danny Gokey, Keith Thomas Danny Gokey
Hope in Front of Me

Hope in Front of Me

by Danny Gokey, Keith Thomas Danny Gokey


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, February 7


Nearly a half-decade removed from American Idol, Danny Gokey -- the second runner-up from season eight -- has abandoned the pop mainstream and focuses on Christian music for his sophomore set, 2014's Hope in Front of Me. Gokey doesn't devote the entirety of Hope in Front of Me to inspirational music -- he attempts to cop a bit of Daft Punk's "Get Lucky" swagger on the ebullient "Better Than Gold," a deliberate evocation of Off the Wall-era disco that grabs attention because it, along with the Yacht Rocking "Take It to the Limit," sound nothing like the rest of the Hope -- but the majority of the record is dedicated to messages of love, faith, and hope. Sometimes, he gets a bit mawkish -- "One Life," where accidental deaths are used as an example of living just for today -- and the arrangements could never be mistaken for subtle, as all the vocals on synthesizers are pushed right into the red, egged along by circular arpeggios that never let up. This glassy, immaculate, professional pop suits the CCM MOR mainstream, but Gokey fairs the best when Hope in Front of Me steers away from the pack and into a bit of early-'80s disco-kitsch; the touch is lighter, the hooks are sharper, and the feel is bright and open, not clean and claustrophobic.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/2014
Label: Bmg Rights Managemen
UPC: 0859381010968
catalogNumber: 81010968
Rank: 8337


  1. Hope In Front of Me
  2. More Than You Think I Am
  3. Tell Your Heart To Beat Again
  4. Better Than Gold
  5. One Life
  6. This is What It Means
  7. Love Will Take You Places
  8. Take It To the Limit
  9. Pretty Beautiful
  10. Because of You
  11. It's Not Over

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Danny Gokey   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Keith Thomas   Bass,Piano,Keyboards
Luke Brown   Background Vocals
Vicki Hampton   Background Vocals
Wendy Moten   Background Vocals
Dan Needham   Percussion,Drums
Aaron Sprinkle   Guitar,Drums,Keyboards
Bernie Herms   Keyboards
Jason Eskridge   Background Vocals
Bryon "Mr. Talkbox" Chambers   Talk Box
Jonathan Crone   Guitar,Background Vocals
Drew Ramsey   Guitar
Luke Fredrickson   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Joshua Crosby   Drums,Keyboards
Phil King   Background Vocals
Talkbox   Guest Appearance
Jacob Lowery   Bass
Fred Williams   Keyboards
Johnathon Lucas   Drums
Celica Westbrook   Background Vocals
Phil Moore   Bass

Technical Credits

Keith Thomas   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Marcus Hummon   Composer
Tim Nichols   Composer
Brett James   Composer
Dan Needham   Engineer
Aaron Sprinkle   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Randy Phillips   Composer
Bernie Herms   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Stephanie Lewis   Composer
Mitchell Solarek   Executive Producer
Molly Reed   Composer
Jeff Pardo   Composer
Matthew West   Composer
Jonathan Crone   Engineer
Drew Ramsey   Composer
Blake Bollinger   Composer
Danny Gokey   Composer
Joshua Crosby   Composer,Producer
Megan Conner   Composer
Brian White   Composer
Richard Blackstone   Executive Producer
Ben Caver   Composer
Fred Williams   Programming
Ben Stennis   Composer
Rob Nix   Programming
Penny Railey   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews