by Dierks Bentley


$11.47 $11.99 Save 4% Current price is $11.47, Original price is $11.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20


Pivoting off his 2010 bluegrass detour Up on the Ridge, Dierks Bentley returns to the well-oiled modern country of Feel That Fire. If that 2009 effort seemed a little stiff in its calculations, Bentley is looser here and more muscular, too, something apparent from the grinding guitars of the opening "Am I the Only One." Despite this kick, Home often winds up on territory that's as sentimental as its name suggests, rhapsodizing about the comfort of home, love, and family, going so far as to have his child murmur the melody of "Thinking of You" as the album is winding to a conclusion. Here, Bentley borders on pure kitsch and it's not the only country corn here, not with the cautionary tale of how "Diamonds Make Babies" and Dierks asking for somebody to call the po-pop on "5-1-5-0." Catchy as they are, these numbers are a shade too cutesy, salvaged by the inherent grit in Bentley's voice and the clean propulsion of the production. Like Feel That Fire, Home does tilt a little too closely to the slick side of things but it has a sturdier foundation: the songs are overall stronger, the performances hit hard, it doesn't waste time, it gets to the point even when the point is a little silly. These tougher remnants of the rootsy, down-home Up on the Ridge are enough to turn Home into a record that resonates longer and louder than Feel That Fire even when it shares much of the same radio-ready DNA.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/07/2012
Label: Capitol
UPC: 5099909471429
catalogNumber: 94714
Rank: 245038

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dierks Bentley   Primary Artist
Sam Bush   Fiddle
Eric Darken   Percussion
Brett Beavers   Acoustic Guitar
Steve Brewster   Percussion,Drums
Jimmy Carter   Bass
J.T. Corenflos   Electric Guitar
Dan Dugmore   Lap Steel Guitar
Shannon Forrest   Drums
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Kenny Greenberg   Electric Guitar
Gary Morse   Pedal Steel Guitar
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Mike Rojas   Piano,Accordion
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Jon Randall Stewart   Background Vocals
Randy Kohrs   Dobro
Bryan Sutton   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin,Guitjo
Jim Beavers   Acoustic Guitar
Perry Coleman   Background Vocals
Tom Bukovac   Electric Guitar
Luke Wooten   Electric Guitar
Scotty Sanders   Pedal Steel Guitar
Andy Leftwich   Fiddle,Mandolin
Rob McNelley   Electric Guitar
Jaren Johnston   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Background Vocals
Jedd Hughes   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Steven Sheehan   Acoustic Guitar
Chris Stapleton   Background Vocals
Lona Heins   Background Vocals
Caylin Cervetti   Background Vocals
Tim O'Brian   Mandolin
Morgan Hayes   Background Vocals
Evie Bentley   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Brett Beavers   Composer,Programming,Producer
Jamie Hartford   Composer
Gary Nicholson   Composer
Gary Paczosa   Engineer
Dan Wilson   Composer
Jon Randall Stewart   Composer,Producer
Jim Beavers   Composer
Luke Wooten   Producer,Engineer
Dierks Bentley   Composer
Joanna Carter   Art Direction
Tully Kennedy   Composer
Jaren Johnston   Composer
Ross Copperman   Composer
Lee Thomas Miller   Composer
Charlie Worsham   Composer
Marv Green   Composer
Travis Howard   Composer
Chris Stapleton   Composer
Bruce Wallace   Composer
Brandon Bell   Engineer
Marty Dodson   Composer
Eric Paslay   Composer
Ryan Tyndell   Composer
Paul Jenkins   Composer
Jon Nite   Composer
Jason Delkou   Composer
Jason Selers   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews